IRON DAISY

This blog is about my experiences in the world, both good and bad. It is about how I view things and my opinions. It's my thoughts on life, my reflections into my experiences. It is my way of processing my world around me and things that happen to me. Writing is my therapy. It's about life as I see it, take it or leave it.

Thank You, WordPress September 18, 2013

Filed under: Blogging,Gratitude — Risa @ 7:00 am

I wanted to thank WordPress for featuring my post, FYI (if you’re a Teenage Boy)on their Freshly Pressed page. So far that post has received roughly 140,000 page views, which is unusual for these parts. Usually only my sister and a few close friends take the time to read what I write and I appreciate them. It wouldn’t have gotten that many views or “likes” without the help of WordPress and I sincerely thank them.

And I appreciate you. Yes, you. All the yous who have taken the time over the last 2 weeks to read my post. All the yous who have left a comment, whether I disagreed or not. Mostly, I’m overwhelmed by all the yous expressing how much you enjoyed my post.  I wish I had the time to personally thank everyone who left a positive comment. I read every single one I received before I published it.

I’d like to thank the Huffington Post for contacting me and asking to feature my post on their site. I couldn’t keep up with all the comments as they are currently at over 1,000. And personally, I care more about the people who took the time to come over here and leave a comment whether they read it on the HuffPo first or not. I’m also grateful that the people at the HuffPo think anything I have to say is worth putting on their website, since they gave me a blogger profile and have encouraged me to keep submitting articles to them.

I’m thankful for all the attention this little blog has received and I hope it open ups a further conversation about how we talk to our children. And I definitely hope it starts a conversation on slut-shaming and how it’s not cool to blame women/girls for the sexual thoughts and/or actions of men/boys. It’s something I feel passionately about.

On Wednesday, September 4th, I read Mrs. Hall’s original post as it was posted all over my Facebook wall by friends who had both positive and negative reactions. As I often do, when I see a blatantly sexist article such as the OP, I took the same piece and switched the genders around. I do this to point out that if it is ridiculous to say to one gender, it’s equally ridiculous to say to the other. This isn’t the first time I’ve done this. I wrote this up, giggled a little for my silliness (and the silliness of the OP), and posted it on Facebook for just a few like-minded friends to see. Again, I thought only my sister and a few close friends would read it. I did not anticipate it being passed all over Facebook. By the end of the day the page received 13,500 views and I was extremely overwhelmed. The next day it had been seen 85,000 times and HuffPo sent me an email saying they wanted it publish it the next day. Blown away.

I’ve really enjoyed the conversations I had with a few of you as we have gotten to flesh this topic out further. I’m especially proud of my follow-up piece, How I Really Feeland I will freely admit I spent a lot more thought and time and energy composing that than I ever did when I was just parodying the original FYI piece.

Consider this post a big thank you note to all of you. I wouldn’t be writing this if you all hadn’t taken the time to read.

(Edited to correct typos).

 

3 Responses to “Thank You, WordPress”

  1. kiki2point0 Says:

    Thank you! It was a relief to see how many people could see how wildly inappropriate the first piece (by Mrs. Hall) was. I had too many friends that were liking and sharing it. I was excited to share your writing with my friends on Facebook and to see all the positive responses to it.

    So again. Thank you!

  2. Anth Says:

    I discovered the OP via a link on FB. I thought my head would explode. Several of my friends shared the link, approvingly. I was dismayed, to say the least. I’m so glad you wrote this parody! My brother told me about your post and I knew I had to read it. Thanks for helping me to laugh through my annoyance! Much healthier than blowing a head gasket. :)

  3. Laura N. Says:

    It was a terrific post and it said all of the things I wanted to say but couldn’t. I couldn’t believe that the author of the original post could (a) not see the irony of her chastising comments set alongside the photo of her half-clothed family (I reread it a couple times thinking it must be a big sarcastic joke) and (b) that someone could actually share such extreme double standards for adolescent boys and girls. I guess I should never be surprised by the opinions shared through social media, but sometimes I still find it baffling.
    ~Laura

    http://copycatfashionista.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,559 other followers