Graduation

Last night I attended my sister-in-law’s high school graduation. The Principal of the school aknowledged that most graduation speeches are just a bunch of platitudes strung together. So in his speech, he proceeded, rather humorously, to do just that. His entire speech was just quote after quote of one sanctimonious saying after another. It was great, and much more entertaining than the usual graduation fare.

One student I couldn’t help but laugh at his speech. I wasn’t trying to be rude, but having graduated 12 years ago I know from experience that what he was saying wasn’t true. He talked about how they would never forget this or that experience from high school, and I thought “yes you will.” And if you do remember high school as the best time in your life, I feel truly sorry for you. I believe high school is the 3 or 4 years you spend surviving in order to make you strong enough for the real world to come. So to this kid I say, no I don’t remember the first time I walked through the “hallowed” halls of my high school, nor the last time I did either. But I do remember the first time I met my husband, the first time we kissed, when we married, and when each of my children were born. For me, those events were incredibly more significant in my life than trying to find my locker the first day of sophomore year.

One thought on “Graduation

  1. Bahaha! Retarded Mr.Meyer WOULD do something like that. He is a weirdo. He always wanted me to try his sick protein bars……. ANYWAY yeah- its so true. I’ve graduated for 3 years now and sorry but I’ve forgotten alot. I know I had fun. But I’ve had a million times more life experience since then. Dear Fremont High School….we’re over. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

