Happy Birthday Baby Girl!

Seven years ago my life changed forever. I became the mother
of my beautiful baby girl. I can’t believe how fast the years have gone by. Wasn’t it just yesterday that I held her for the first time? I can still remember the night she was born. Once I got my epidural, it was actually quite a pleasant experience. I can still remember looking over at my Mom and mother-in-law while they stood there in excited anticipation holding hands and waiting to see their first grandchild be born. What overwhelmed me the most was how many people loved Reilley just for being born. She was possibly the most gorgeous baby girl ever born and everyone from my co-workers to family members adored her.


Now she has grown into a little girl. She has one of the sweetest hearts in the world. Yes, she has a mischievious side and takes a little too much enjoyment out of teasing her brother. Her nature, however, is very caretaking. The other day we were shopping at Target and I started having pains in my stomach. I decided to sit down and rest and let my husband continue shopping. A few minutes later, Reilley came over to me and said she wanted to sit with me and make sure I was okay. She rubbed my back the whole time. That’s just how she is.

Reilley has a natural exhuberance and zest for life that inspires me. She is so out-going and makes everyone her friend. She tends to be a little bossy, but after all, she is my child. And she is still my baby. I’ve watched her grow from a helpless infant whom I breast fed and changed diapers for into a spirited, independent, social butterfly. Those first few months of sleepless nights and rocking her are nothing but a memory now. Now she is a “big girl” and I even trust her enough to walk to her friend’s house just up the street all by herself. Of course, I watch her the whole way.

Reilley is also a very good big sister to her adoring baby brother (despite the teasing). Cole looks up to her so much and sometimes I think they have their own secret language with each other. They really are mindful of each other and it is so beautiful to watch. I know they’ll have each other for their whole lives. The last seven years I have grown-up as I have watched my daughter grow. She has changed my life for the better. She has made me more patient, more compassionate, and a whole lot less selfish.

For my sweet little girl, I’d like to dedicate the first verse of Martina McBride’s song “In my Daughter’s Eyes” in honor of her birthday.

In my daughter’s eyes,
I am a hero.
I am strong and wise,
And I know no fear.
But the truth is plain to see.
She was sent to rescue me.
I see who I want to be,
In my daughter’s eyes.

One thought on “Happy Birthday Baby Girl!

Leave a Reply

