Intervention

“Intervention” is possibly the best show on television. My husband says that I like “social work shows.” Yes, there are a lot of social workers involved in addiction recovery, but I think I like it because I’ve always rooted for the underdog. All of my life I’ve always cheered for and pulled for the one who was least likely to succeed. Whether that was the most unpopular kid at school or the team that had zero chance of winning.

Every episode I spend the hour praying, begging (with whom, I don’t know) that the featured person or persons will agree to go to treatment. My favorite part of the episode is at the end when they update the person’s story and it says how long they have been sober. It is always gut-wrenching to me if a person refuses to go to treatment, or if they go to treatment they get kicked out.

What I love most about the shows is it shows the strength of families. These families pull together, put differences aside, in order to save the addicted person they love. When I hear some of the individual’s stories of abuse, molestation, and abandonement I think to myself that of course they’re are addicted to a substance now. They never had a chance.

My favorite interventionist is Candy. She truly feels each person’s story. Oftentimes she is in tears by the end of the intervention. She cares so deeply and invests so much of herself into helping the families comes to terms with the person’s addiction. She is the kind of person people listen to because she is comes to each intervention with an open heart and she is a recovering addict herself.

I think if I were an addict, the only interventionist that would convince me to go to treatment is Jeff Von Vonderon. He’s straight-forward, to-the-point, and doesn’t bullshit people. He tells it like it is. He says the same thing every time to each addict. He always says “where here with people who love you like crazy and are fighting to get you back. This is just inviting you to join that fight.” He’s awesome and is like a less-publicity-seeking Dr. Phil.

Last week’s episode with Allison, who was a pre-med/music student before becoming addicted to inhalents (her method of choice was computer duster), was incredibly powerful. She would not sit for the intervention and so her family had to inact their bottom lines. She was getting money from a married sugar daddy and her family called him and threatened to tell his wife if he didn’t cut off her money. They called the Humane Society and got her cats taken away (she would frequently not buy them food in order to buy the computer duster). When she threatened suicide when her cats were taken, the police had to forcibly take her to the psyche ward of the local hospital. After that she agreed to go to treatment and she seemed to thrive there. By the time the episode aired she’d been clean for 3 months and was finally dealing with the pain of molestation and total abandonement of her father. To Allison I say, I’m rooting for you all the way.

This show touches my heart. I can’t help but think of all the people who would probably be dead by now if this show hadn’t of come along. This is what reality TV should be. If we can’t use the media to truly help those in need, what’s the point? A medium like television should be more than just entertainment because it’s impact is so powerful. Its already impacted me and I hope it goes on to help more people.

Leave a Reply

