Things that must Start

I read a lot of blogs, and so this is in no way directed at any one person, but the general world. There are times that I complain about things that must go. Now I’m complaining about things that must start.

If you are a writer of a blog, you must start:

1 – EDITING!!!! Do you not read what you just wrote? If you read it out loud and it makes no sense, how is it going to make sense to the lovely people reading your blog?

2 – SPELLCHECK IS YOUR FRIEND!!! I’m not trying to brag but I’m a good speller. I haven’t won the Scripts Spelling Bee or anything, but I do okay. I spell well and I STILL use spellcheck. Why? Because it doesn’t matter how smart you are — if you can’t spell words correctly, people will think you’re stupid.


3 – PROPER SENTENCE STRUCTURE!!! We need to put more money into education because I swear there are a lot of people who do not know how to put a sentence together correctly in English. Google run-on sentences, please! PLEASE!!! Am I the only one who had to diagram sentences in English class?

4 – GRAMMAR!!! Nothing annoys me more than bad grammar. Recently I was in a restaurant and a man came up to me and said “them are some wild shoes.” I didn’t know whether or not that was a compliment, but my first instinct was to say “those! Those are some wild shoes.” I also worked in a grocery store deli where we cooked whole rotisserie chickens. This lady would always say “those chickens are froze.” It took all my strength not to constantly yell “frozen!”

And to end my rant for the day, I must say that I hear a lot of people complain about “those people” who refuse to learn English. Well you can’t really complain if you yourself can’t read and write proper English. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

