These girls

Echo (and her baby India), Brandee, Rachelle, Lauralee, Celeste, Colette, and Me

You see those girls in the picture above? Those girls (plus many more not pictured) have been in my life for the past 12 1/2 years. We were sorority sisters at Weber State together. Yes, OT sorority was/is the best! People would make fun of us in the Greek System and say that we were just buying our friends. I guess because we had to pay dues. I never minded paying dues because the dues paid for our activities together.
These girls. They have been there for me every step of the way since I was 18 years old. The three years I spent as an active in my sorority were some of the most fun I’ve ever known. We were and are true friends. We had a saying in OT – “sisters by chance, friends by choice.” I can’t even tell you how many hours we spent laughing and crying together. Those three years we spent together every day were amazing. Our lives revolved around the sorority, college guys, and school (in that order). These girls are part of what made me who I am today. They taught me to have self-esteem, to stand up for myself, they brought me out of my shell and turned me into an out-going person. They taught me not to judge others for our differences and to instead embrace and celebrate those differences. I love them all. They are my soul sisters.
And they have been there every step of the way for me. Through one of the darkest times of my life, when I met and married my husband (the only boyfriend of mine they ever liked), when I had each one of my children, and most importantly they all showed up for me when my Mom died. Every single one of them that still lives in Utah came to her viewing. I don’t think they’ll ever know how much that means to me. One of them, Shupee (we call her), flew all the way from her home in Atlanta, GA just to spend 20 minutes at my Mom’s viewing, and then flew back the next day. She writes me an email every Sunday and supported me through my Mom’s entire sickness and death. I love her.
I wrote this post as a tribute to these amazing women in my life. My sisters. Though passing times may take us each away, our sisterhood will never die, crossed arrows tell the reason why, for what we’ve got, won’t turn to yesterdays.
Leave a Reply

