What I learned from doing the Half Marathon

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while. Then I got sidelined by life and strep.

I spent roughly 10 weeks training to walk the half marathon. As a life-long asthmatic I never thought I could walk more than 3 miles at a time, let alone 13.1 miles. And yet, every week I would do my “long” walks on Saturdays and slowly build upon the mileage I had walked the week before. Every week I was surprised that I could walk farther than I walked the week before. Every week I felt my muscles and my lung capacity growing.
But this is what I learned….
I can do hard things. I can do hard things that suck. I can persevere through hard things when all I want to do is give up. The last half mile of the marathon, all I wanted to do was sit down by the side of the road and have someone come pick me up. But I kept going. Even though my feet were on fire. Even though my hips were off-kilter. Even though everything in my body told me to stop, my mind overcame my body. I kept going and I finished.
I set a goal and I met that goal. I made myself meet the goal. It wasn’t just because I paid $50 and didn’t want to waste the money. It was because I made a promise to myself that would walk the damn half marathon and I did the doggone thing.
I’m not gonna lie…it sucked. Will I ever do it again? I don’t know. I was in a lot of pain. But pain equals growth and I really feel like I grew a lot during this process. I have a lot more confidence in my physical self, my athletic abilities. I learned about myself that I can set goals and accomplish them even when they’re hard and it causes me pain.
Now when I face a hard task I will look back on my training for the marathon, and the actual marathon itself and know that
I can do hard things.
2 thoughts on “What I learned from doing the Half Marathon

  1. Accomplishing things like that really makes you feel alive. At least for me. I haven't accomplished a hard thing in years. Other than school. There are semesters when I've wanted to just give up, but I push through and by the end of the semester when I get my grades and they are decent… I feel so good about myself. Because I know that if I push through I can do anything. Then again, I've never done any half marathon….

Leave a Reply

