Jerk Chicken

Last week I had the fabulous opportunity to attend the National Families Supporting Adoption Conference and get paid for it. It’s no secret that I love Adoption. I met some great people from all over the country and attended some great classes. I might write a post about just how awesome this year’s Conference was.

BUT,
The food. Oh, the food. I didn’t think it was possible to make food so expensive and yet so disgusting.
Friday night was the big semi-formal banquet. It was a sit down dinner with waiters. I have to say, the salad was excellent. I usually hate salad. I hate iceberg lettuce. But this lettuce had a lot of dark green leaves that I like and the ranch dressing was almost kind of spicy. The dinner rolls were also very good. But the entree. Yuck personified. It was some weird chicken breast with the wing bone left in (for presentation?). It was on this weird rice pilaf pad that looked like it was fried. Next to that were the weirdest broccoli stalks I’ve ever seen. I thought it was asparagus at first. The worst part was the sauce on the outside of the chicken was like a flourescent orange. Every instinct I had told me not to eat this chicken. It was a stuffed chicken with a sauce in the middle. My friend Kari discovered this. I really didn’t want to eat the chicken, but there were a lot of people at my table who I didn’t know and I didn’t want them to think I was some spoiled brat who thought I was too good for my chicken.
So I took a few bites. And that is when my throat started swelling and I knew that I was having an allergic reaction. After a while, the waitress finally came back around and I asked her if any part of the entree had nuts in it. She said the sauce inside the chicken had nuts in it. What the heck? Who freaking pairs chicken with nuts except in Thai food? And if you’re going to serve a dish to a large group of people (we’re talking about 2,000) and you’re serving something with a common allergen in it, don’t you think you would warn everyone first before they ate it? Oh no, not them.
After I told the waitress that I was allergic to nuts she offered me the vegetarian option.
Duh!
I’m not allergic to meat, I’m allergic to nuts!
Luckily the allergic reaction I had wasn’t too bad (I didn’t eat any of the sauce) so I just popped a couple of Benadryl. I was completely high by the time I left the Conference for that night and I probably shouldn’t have driven home.
I could go on and on about how bad the food was at the Conference, but I have already given this episode enough energy for one lifetime.
Leave a Reply

