The Biggest Loser – Who I’m rooting for this season (and not rooting for)

Three weeks ago the 8th season of “The Biggest Loser” debuted on NBC. I didn’t really start watching TBL until last season when I was training for the 1/2 marathon and needed some inspiration. I found a lot of the contestants on the 7th season to be really inspiring. There has been on woman this season who has inspired me beyond words.
Meet Abby.

Isn’t she gorgeous? She has a southern accent that I love. From the first episode I was rooting for Abby. She is really inspiring. And it’s not because she wants to lose weight. About two years before Abby went on TBL, her husband, 5 year old daughter, and 2 week old son were killed in an automobile accident. Her entire family was wiped out in a moment. She inspires me because she gets up in the morning! I don’t know how I would react in Abby’s situation, but I think I would probably lay in bed, cry, and eat all day too. She has the courage to go on national television, say “this is what happened to me, and I’m still here.” I love her. Exercise is therapy and what better way to help move on from such a devastating loss than to spend your life in a gym? Not only that but Abby is a high school teacher who recently went back to get her Masters. She’s amazing.

I’m rooting for you, girl, all the way.

This is who I’m rooting against. Meet Tracey.

I can’t decide if Tracey is evil, really stupid, or just incredibly self-centered. On Tuesday’s episode Tracey decided to screw everyone over so that she would have the advantage at the weigh-in. At first she gave into a challenge and “won” a 2 pound advantage. The price she had to pay for this was she and her partner, (whom she did not discuss this with), Mo, could not work out with their trainers all week. Basically she was willing to throw her own partner under the bus (who needs the trainers) for her own advantage. This royally pissed off Bob and Jillian and after a discussion with her, they thought she had “gotten it.” It being that week 3 is too early to be worried about the game and she should be worrying about weight loss. Also not screwing over her partner in the process. This wasn’t enough for Tracey, during another challenge she scarfed down a butt-load of cupcakes so that she could decide who’s weight, and who’s wouldn’t, would count on the scales at the weigh in. Everyone was pissed because they knew she would target the person in each partnership who had the least potential to lose the larger amount of weight. She also made promises to people she didn’t keep and stabbed some people in the back. Her actions put the largest contestant in TBL history, Shay, on the chopping block. In a stunning act of kindness, the other partnership to fall below the yellow line (Antoine and Sean) asked everyone to eliminate them so that Shay could stay. Shay is only 29 years old and started off weighing 470ish pounds. She needs to be there. Tracey showed no remorse and just kept her nose stuck in the air the entire weigh-in. No one clapped when she lost 11 pounds.
Why I’m not rooting for Tracey is because during the very first challenge, before they even made it to the Biggest Loser ranch, all the contestants had to walk/run a mile. She was determined to win and left the starting line like a bat out of hell. She was in first for a long time. But she over-did it and basically collapsed a few hundred feet from the finish line. The other contestants knew that Tracey would be devastated that she didn’t finish, so all of them went over to Tracey, helped lift her up, and helped her cross the finish line. That’s what I love about The Biggest Loser….most of the contestants help each other out because they know that the real goal is weight loss and health rather than the grand prize at the end. After Tracey was helped over the finish line, she collapsed and spent a week in the hospital. After years of inactivity, girlfriend decided she was going to run a mile. Dumb. Her partner, Mo, had to carry the burden of weight loss for she and him because she over-strained herself.
So why I can’t stand Tracey is because she was shown a lot of compassion by her fellow contestants. They didn’t have to go back for Tracey, but they knew it was important to her. They could have left her face-down in the sand, which is something I suspect Tracey would have done if the tables had been turned. She tried screwing everyone else over just so she could say on the ranch one more week. She’s playing the game and forgetting that everyone is there because they need to be. Boo, I hate that. She reminds me of a stuck-up high school cheerleader, which makes me like her even less.
Posted in TV

2 thoughts on “The Biggest Loser – Who I’m rooting for this season (and not rooting for)

  1. I'm gonna say it. Tracy is a biiiiiiitch! Oh man I was so mad this week! She is seriously insane. What is wrong with her?! And when she makes all her stupid decisions shes just all like "what? uh?" She doesn't think about Coach Mo at all! Holy crap that would have been so awesome if Jillian would have beat her ass like she wanted to, she was pissed!! She is incredibly selfish and I hate her guts.I hope she gets voted off ASAP.

  2. I really like this show. It inspires me as well. I remember when I worked at the gym and got to see so many people make a positive change in their lives. This show brings back good memories and inspires me to quit eating junk.I have not seen it this year, but I can't believe that lady is able to even function after losing her whole family….wow! She is much stronger than I am.

Leave a Reply

