Email Forwards

Email forwards are one of the most annoying things on the planet. My best friend has effectively banned anyone from sending her an email forward. If you do, you get a reply and a stern lecture. I wish I could be so courageous. I don’t want to see pictures of cats wearing costumes, a funny joke, or stupid people doing stupid things. I just don’t.

The most annoying of the email forwards are the ones who are falsely awashed in righteous indignation. You know the ones:
SIGN THIS PETITION OR THE GOVERNMENT IS GOING TO GIVE ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS SOCIAL SECURITY!
SIGN THIS PETITION OR THE DEMOCRATS ARE GOING TO MAKE EVERY AMERICAN CONVERT TO ISLAM!
SIGN THIS PETITION OR THE ACLU IS GOING TO REQUIRE EVERY SCHOOL CHILD TO REPEAT “THERE IS NO GOD” AFTER THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE!
SIGN THIS PETITION OR YOUR RIGHT TO VOTE WILL BE GIVEN OVER TO LESBIAN SPACE ALIEN SHEEPHERDERS!
Really, I’m so tired of it. They’re so blatantly stupid you wonder how anyone could be so gullible as to forward it on to you. Or that they’re not smart enough to do some fact checking on their own. But don’t you think if the government was really going to give social security benefits to illegal aliens or the ACLU was threatening to remove all headstones that contain crosses from military cemeteries you would have heard it on the news first and not from a forwarded email in your inbox? Don’t you think?
My favorite were the ones I was sent during the 2008 election telling me how evil a man Obama was. It’s amazing to me that you can spread lies, half-truths, and hate around the world in just an email. It’s like nobody had the gumption to do some digging and find out the truth. If you’re going to base your vote on an email forward, that’s your right. But Dude, do some fact checking.
Snopes.com exists for a reason. Live it, love it, learn it. And I would be greatly appreciative to never receive an email forward again.
One thought on “Email Forwards

  1. Don't even get me started! I lose such respect for people in my family and friend base when they send me one of these. And I received tons of them from people who knew that I supported Obama. Give me a break. I don't even read them.

Leave a Reply

