2009 – A Year in Review (With Pictures)

JANUARY

On January 20th, the United States of America inaugurated it’s first African-American President. A very historic moment, for sure, and one that meant a lot to me personally. Not only did it mean the end of the horrifyingly embarrassing Bush years, to me it meant a new hope. A better and a brighter future for my children. One of my favorite quotes from President Barrack Obama’s inauguration speech:
The time has come to…carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea passed on from generation to generation, that God given promise all are equal, all are free, and all deserve a chance to pursue the full measure of their happiness.
FEBRUARY
The hubs and I celebrated our 10th Valentine’s Day together. These are the beautiful flowers he got me. By buying them, he donated the money to Pancan.org, an organization dedicated to the treatment and research of pancreatic cancer. A double gift.
MARCH

On a beautiful day in March, the hubs and I had the pleasure to attend the sealing of a very important family to me. Out of respect for their privacy, I will not post their picture. This family means so much to me because we all worked, prayed, worried, shed tears, prayed some more, made a billion for phones on behalf of, cried, worked, (did I mention prayed?), to make the adoption of their little girl possible. From announcement to sealing was about 13 months. I’ve never worked harder for a family in my life, and it’s never meant more to me. Going to the temple with them that day was one of the richest, most sweetest, spiritual experiences of my life, and one I will treasure in my heart forever.
APRIL

On the 24th, MJ, Ems, and Hollz and I went to go see Wicked, a fantabulous Broadway musical. It was AMAZING! Thanks to Hollz’s old job, we got fantastic seats (4th row floor!) and sat only two rows away from the incredibly hunky Jazz basketball player, Kyle Korver. It was a fantastic night!

On the 25th, I went brunette! For the first time in about 5 years. It was a very different transformation, and it’s been a million different shades of brown since then. I’ve learned that blondes may have more fun, but brunettes are sexier!
MAY
In May I lost my good friend, Jeneane Hughes, to Lou Gehrig’s disease. She was an amazing woman with a huge heart, a great sense of humor, and a fighting spirit that left us all in awe. She will be forever missed.
On the 16th, I did the impossible (I thought). I walked 13.1 miles. Around a reservoir, down a canyon, through a parkway, and down a Boulevard. Boy, did my feet hurt! It was one of the biggest accomplishments of my life (aside from having my 3 beautiful children). One of the benefits of training was an increased lung capacity. Another was my increased self-worth and sense of accomplishment. I learned that I can do hard things.
JUNE
On the 6th, our beautiful daughter Reilley was baptized. We are so proud of her. She looked so beautiful and happy that day. She also looked very tall as she was a full head taller than the other 8 year olds getting baptized that day.
The hubs ran the Ragnar Wasatch Back race. I’m so proud of him. 12 miles over a 100 mile course. He hasn’t really run since high school, and he set his mind to it, and he accomplished it. He also said he had fun along the way.
Our darling baby, Dane, turned 1 year old! We celebrated by going to the Aquarium in Sandy with Aunt Amanda, Uncle Shane, cousins Michael and Eli, Peepaw, and Grandma Neva. Later we had a big family party where Dane consumed copious amounts of cake and got very messy.
JULY
On the 28th, I turned 31. Now that I’m officially in my 30s I’ve learned that it’s not about how old your are, it’s how about young you look!
AUGUST
On the 20th, Casey and I celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary. 10 years of very wedded bliss! We actually got some very bad news that day (which later worked out very well), so I spent most of the day crying. But that night we went to Maddox and toasted our very happy 10 years together as husband and wife with some of the best fried chicken in the history of fried chicken, the best corn pones in the history of corn pones, and Mountain Dew. A great evening, indeed.
On the 29th, we celebrated the wedding of Casey’s brother Kyle and his beautiful bride, Cazree. This added 2 new members of our family and we are so glad to call Gahndyn a newphew and Cazree a sister.
SEPTEMBER


Nothing of importance happened this month.  

OCTOBER
On the 17th, my brother Victor married his very beautiful bride, Jennika, on one of the most gorgeous fall days I have ever seen. The day was perfect, the bride and groom looked blissfully happy, the food was fantastic. I truly felt my Mom’s spirit in the temple that day as Vic and Jenn said their vows to each other. I know she is so happy for her son and had a hand in bringing Jennika to our family. I love you guys!
NOVEMBER
On the 25th, we moved into our very first home. We signed a contract with our builders in July, they dug our hole in September, and 2 months later, our house was built. WE LOVE IT! We have waited a long time to move into our dream home and we are so happy. Definitely the bestest present I’ve ever gotten.
DECEMBER
We spent our very first Christmas in our new house. Although I got sidelined by a kidney infection, it was truly a wonderful Christmas season. I loved all the things we did to celebrate this year. From going down to the see the lights at temple square with my sister and her family, to going to the Mormon Tabernacle Christmas concert, our annual trip to Christmas Village with our friends the Richards, making kleiner with my sister, Lille Yule Nacht, Grandma’s house on Christmas Eve, to Christmas morning with my family and our traditional aebelskivers. The best presents I got this year was the continued love of my wonderful husband, the health and happiness of my children, a safe and beautiful home to live in, my health, and the love of all my friends and family.
HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
2 thoughts on “2009 – A Year in Review (With Pictures)

Leave a Reply

