Happy Birthday Baby Boy!

You see that little boy in the picture above? That is my son, Cole. Six years ago today he was born. To say that his entry into the world was traumatic is an understatement. He came 4 weeks early and I nearly bled to death in the process. But since the day he was born, Cole has brought so much joy in our lives. He is a fighter. Despite being born early, he never had to go to the NICU. At 6 weeks old he was hospitalized with RSV. Possibly the scariest time in my life. But he pulled through like a champion. I was told that he would have life-long asthma, something I struggle with myself. But I drew comfort in the fact that I would know how to help him. However, at his kindergarten check-up he showed absolutely no signs of asthma. Something I’ve very grateful for.
Cole is the funniest kid I know. I love how he sees the world and the comments he makes. He says things that have us laughing out loud. He’s also so, so smart. He picks up on things quickly and I’m constantly amazed at how smart he is. He has a tender heart and really cares about people. He is also very helpful and wants to help me clean, pick-up, and such. He is much more cautious than his sister, but still has an adventurous spirit. I love this little boy. I don’t know what my life would be like without him. Before he was born, like most second time mothers, I didn’t know if I could love another child like I loved my first. But the minute Cole was placed in my arms, I fell in love with him. There’s a Cole shaped spot in my heart just for him. I am amazed that 6 years have gone by since that moment I first held him.
Coley bears, I LOVE YOU!
One thought on “Happy Birthday Baby Boy!

Leave a Reply

