The Rules of Blogging

Yesterday I was reading my favorite blog, Feminist Mormon Housewives, and one of the perma-bloggers, ECS, wrote what she has learned in the last 5 years of blogging. I’ve only been blogging for 2 years and so I’m not as far along in my journey. One of the rules she wrote really helped me yesterday.


“3) Walk away because you’re done, not because you’re angry. Over the years, I’ve allowed fellow bloggers to get under my skin. In fact, I’m somewhat ashamed to admit that I’ve been upset for DAYS over something someone had written….Since then, I’ve learned to follow the old adage: illegitimi non carborundum (don’t let the bastards get you down).” –fMh

I think it’s obvious why it helped me. Reading this reminded me that my worth is great and is not caught up in what others think of me. Especially evil trollish people who like to exact mean-spirited psychological warfare on others for simply disagreeing with them. I can’t control evil people like that. What I can control is how I react to them. Yesterday, I didn’t react too well. Thank you to Chelsi, Reb, Holly, and Amanda for reminding me that I have beautiful, wonderful, kind people in my life.

Also, I was reading the infamous blog c jane enjoy it. She also had a blog about blogging. She had received a particularly nasty comment on her blog. I love what she says:

“But yesterday this horrible comment shows up and I read it first thing in the morning. I thought, yikes!Because the notion that someone could hate you so badly is always shocking. Like, blood drains from your limbs shocking. I mean, so someone doesn’t particularly like my flavor of narcissism, why hate me over it?” –c jane enjoy it

I really needed to read the words on these two blogs yesterday. They helped me get over myself . What I was really missing was the back-to-reality-emotional-grounding advice of the hubs. He reminds me that internet life isn’t real life and that I have lots of wonderful people who love me. And even if I didn’t, I’d still be one amazing chica. That’s why he’s the love of my life.

So yeah, I’m a person who takes things to heart, I internalize criticism too quickly, and I wear my emotions on my sleeve. This is what makes me who I am. Am I going to change? Probably not. But I am learning and growing. I’m developing a thicker skin. I’m a human being with real thoughts, real emotions, real loves, real disappointments, real hurts, real tragedies, and real triumphs.

Behold my Awesomeness…..
4 thoughts on “The Rules of Blogging

  1. We live in such an odd era of communication. People write things online that they would never even have the balls to say in text, on a phone call or most certainly not face to face. Sometimes when I read news articles for or against the LDS church, my mind is blown by members and non members alike. Its like the computer allows for no sense of integrity whatsoever. I got a taste of this from myself when I went too far talking about BYU and Max Hall. I was getting in fights online with people I cared a great deal about until I realized, oh right, its friggin football. Who gives two shits?So yeah, I think people need to chill out and realize that comments and online stuff is essentially the same as leaving a paper trail behind you. You never know who or when someone may see what you wrote and it will most definitely reflect badly on you. The flip side of this is realizing that people who write mean things are complete cowards and have loads of issues you don't want to be a part of. So perhaps, if someone criticizes you, you can then pride yourself on being hated by them. Because at least you know the idiots are no longer associating themselves with you.

  2. Casey is totally right. Internet life is not real life! Chelsi gave a perfect example because it was actually me and Scotty whom she got in a little tiff with over that retarded Max Hall thing. I mean I think if we were face to face we'd still disagree with each other about it but we both went too far! It's the internet and a lot of times you say things that you would never want to say in real life. Luckily, she's an awesome girl and we didn't end up holding any grudges. But I've read things on blogs that really do bother for days! Or it just puts me in a funk the rest of the night….I also need to learn how to seperate real from fake sometimes because the blogs that really piss me off are usually the ones who have a weak sense of reality anyways.

  3. My grandpa and dad were both English lit teachers at Tooele High, and my grandpa had "illegitimi non carborundum" engraved on a plaque which hung above his chalkboard for years. When he retired he gave it to my dad, who hung it above his board until he retired. It's a good quote.(btw-I have to say how much I love your hair in some of these older pictures–I love the blonde, all-one-length look! So cute!)

Leave a Reply

