Library Books

I just got an email from the library saying I have 4 books on hold there. I have to pick them up by Saturday. I already have 5 books checked out from the library that I haven’t read yet. Why do I do these things to myself? I also have 2 books that I’ve bought recently (one was a forced purchase from the library after they said I “damaged” the book) called The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I’ve started reading it already and it is fantastic. The other I bought so that I could get free shipping from amazon.com. It’s another memoir written by Jeneatte Walls called Half Broke Horses. If you haven’t read her first book, The Glass Castle yet, get thee hence to a library.

One book I’m really excited to read that I have checked out right now is the new Pat Conroy book, South of Broad. I love Pat Conroy. His book, The Prince of Tides, is one of my absolute favorites. The language and words he uses are so beautiful and touching. He’s made me fall in love with South Carolina and I’ve never really been there (besides just driving through). He is a masterful storyteller. I’ve heard him called “The Prince of Words.” He really is. (side note: Do not see the movie, The Prince of Tides…it will ruin it for you.)
I also have a Jennifer McMahon book in my library bookbag. It’s called Dismantled. I’ve read one of her other books, The Island of Lost Girls, and it was so engaging that I couldn’t put it down. If I can ever get to this book without renewing it for the 19th time, I hope that’s it’s just as engaging as the first.
I really enjoy reading young adult literature. Karen Cushman is one of my favorite authors. I’ve read every book she’s ever written. After I read The Midwife’s Apprentice in one of my college English classes (i.e. Children’s Literature), I immediately went to the library and checked out every single book of hers that I could. I am beyond thrilled that she has a new book coming out this April. What I’m trying to say is don’t discount a book because it’s young adult literature. Just because a book is geared toward young adults, doesn’t mean it isn’t very well written. A Single Shard, The Devil’s Arithmetic, Number the Stars, and of course all of Cushman’s books are some of the best books I’ve ever read. So it’s no wonder that I decided to check out 3 young adult books after perusing the shelves. I got Across the Grain, A Coming Evil, and The Octopus.

With all this reading to do, I better get off the dang computer, stop blogging and start reading!
“Some of my best friends are books.” -Author Unknown
2 thoughts on “Library Books

Leave a Reply

