Let’s Talk about the Oscars

Okay, I admit it…I’m a huge movie buff. I love movies. I love going to movies. I love watching movies at home with the lights turned low cuddling a blanket. I quote movies incessantly. Some movies are my best friends. I can always count on them to be there for me whenever I’m sad, happy, or lonely. I also love the Oscars. I don’t care about the dresses or how gloriously over-rated they are. I love the speeches. I love the anticipation. I love surprises.
When the Oscar nominations this year came out I was very surprised by 2 things. One of them that was Mo’nique wasn’t nominated for Best Supporting Actress for her role in the movie, “Precious.”


My mind kept reeling. How on earth did she win the Golden Globe for this role and not be nominated at all for an Oscar? This is kind of a disconnect for me. A lot of movie critics were speculating for months now that not only would she get an Oscar nomination, but the win. It seems kind of like a slap in the face. I haven’t seen the movie yet because I think it might be too hard for me to watch a mother physically, emotionally, psychologically, and sexually abusing her daughter. However, the scenes that I’ve seen of Mo’nique’s acting are amazing. It can’t be easy to play such a damaged, sick, sociopath.

EDIT: So as someone pointed out, Mo’nique was nominated for an Oscar. Thank goodness! And don’t I feel like a dope? When I heard the nominations read, I didn’t hear her name. So I’ll just have to say that I hope she wins. She deserves it. She has put in a lot of hard work for many decades in Hollywood and I think we are just starting to see the depth of her talent.

Another thing that surprised me was Sandra Bullock’s nomination for Best Actress for her role in “The Blind Side.” Now, don’t get me wrong. I love Sandra Bullock. I think she is a great comedic actress. I absolutely love her in “Miss Congeniality,” “28 Days,” and “A Time to Kill.” I get a smile on my face whenever I think about her. She seems like a genuinely nice, down-to-earth person and we would probably be friends in real life.
And don’t get me wrong, I loved the movie, “The Blind Side.” I love a good adoption story. I love a movie based-on-a-true story about a good-hearted family who went out of their way to help someone in need, subsequently making him a part of their family. However, I didn’t think Bullock’s performance or the movie was Oscar quality. That’s okay….a lot of great movies I love were never nominated for an Oscar. So I was shocked that she was nominated over other people for Best Actress.
Mo’nique’s being left out in the cold come Oscar nomination time after her triumph at the Golden Globes in not a unique story. Madonna won the Golden Globe for Best Actress for her role in “Evita.”
EDIT: Apparently only Madonna’s story is unique. Geez, do I feel like a dummy.
And then come Oscar time, Madonna was nowhere to be found. Only in this situation, I didn’t think Madonna’s acting was quality enough to earn her a Golden Globe or Oscar nomination, whereas in Mo’nique’s case, I think her acting did earn her both those things. What was the Academy thinking?!
EDIT: Apparently the Academy got it right. Mo’nique is amazing. I hope she wins!
Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.
3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk about the Oscars

  1. Thanks for pointing that out! Boy, am I a nerd. I'm glad I can laugh at myself. I'll just blame in on the high quantity of pain killers I've been taking the last few days due to a massive kidney infection. I'll be laughing about my goof-up for days 🙂

  2. Sadly I have seen Precious yet, but I would really like to. And I'm pretty sure me and Scotty got the idea to name our baby Collins because thats the teenage girl's name in Blindside and its cool.Oh wait except we're not naming him that for sure- we'll know when we see him 🙂

Leave a Reply

