Writer’s block BE GONE

What’s the best way to get rid of writer’s block? Well, to just write! Here is my jumbled attempt to put something down so that I don’t go into a huge rut of not writing.

So here’s what’s going on in my world and brain lately…
I have a virus. Given to me by the lovely hubs. He’s such a dear to share with me. This one went straight to my lungs and nestled itself there until it evolved into bronchitis. I woke up this morning after having a fitful night of sleep not being able to breath and decided that I was going to see my asthma doctor today or else. I’m glad I went because my lung functioning was only 67%. Hello! That’s scary. My doc told me he’s glad I didn’t wait longer because in a couple of days I probably would have been hospitalized. Double scary. He gave me a breathing treatment and after that my lung functioning was up to 90%. It’s still not where he wants me, but he was satisfied. He’s starting me on this new medicine that’s an inhaler type of thing. If my lung functioning increases, I get to be taken off once-a-day Singulair. Yippy! I’m going back in a month to have my lungs tested. Hopefully it works because for some strange reason I really like breathing.
The Health Care Reform bill passed yesterday. Yay! I’m sure I’ll get anonymous hate comments over being in support of reform. But that’s okay because I have cowards posting anonymous hateful things for just being me. I’ll probably write a longer post about how I feel about this bill, my likes and my dislikes, later when I have the energy that bronchitis isn’t zapping from me.
As far as marathon training goes, I’m gonna let my lungs heal and then get back at it. I am really glad the weather is cooperating because there are some great places to walk/run in my new ‘hood. I put together a training program that is 6 months long, and I don’t really need 6 months to train for a half marathon since I’ve done one before and because I regularly work out in the first place. After my step-brother-in-law/second cousin-in-law (confusing, isn’t it?) and a bunch of my friends did the Moab half this weekend, it got me really motivated for my half in August.
I get to go see a Broadway production of “Legally Blonde” with my awesome mother-in-law and all my awesome sisters-in-law on Thursday. Last year we all saw “Wicked” together so hopefully this is our new yearly tradition. What can be better than spending time with women you love, eating good food, and watching a good show?
Last week another spectacular adoption miracle happened for one of my couples. This makes 9 placements in 7 months just for my clients alone. I am one busy lady! I literally can’t keep up with all my paperwork at this moment. I’m truly happy for this couple, but more importantly I am thrilled that I’m involved in a work that truly affects great changes in people’s lives. This little baby’s life will be forever altered for the better because he has a stable family who loves him. He started out his life addicted to meth and in the NICU and his future is truly bright because this one couple is willing to do anything just to be his parents. Their hearts are so open and they are so full of love. When I tell you I meet the best people in the world in this job (birthparents and adoptive couples alike), I mean it. The capacity for love that these people feel is just about the most precious and humbling thing I’ve ever witnessed.
Phew, that was more than what I expected I would be able to write with this block on my brain. I knew my verbose nature would rear it’s head sooner or later.
3 thoughts on “Writer’s block BE GONE

  1. Dang girl, be careful with your lungs. they are delicate. Hopefully the new meds will help out, I am sure you will have no problem with the Marathon, I agree that it is a good idea to give your lungs a break then get back into trainning mode. You know me, I am not in your political party, but I am also not shy or pushy about that..I respect your views that differ from mine. way to go on the great adoption.I was watching "16 and Pregnant" today and watched an adoption. Man, what a great job you have! Keep up the excellent work. You're job helps make a world of difference for many people.

  2. Congrats on finding your voice again. Hope you feel better soon.My opinion — If you can't own up to your point of view, you should keep your mouth shut. I admire your willingness to stand up for what you believe. If I disagree, I'm more than willing to say so, with my name attached for all to see. People can disagree and still have integrity. Good luck on the training. My first ever half marathon is coming up in 1 month! I'm surprisingly nervous. 3 of my sisters and my sis-in-law (Zina, Meg, Carrie, and Kass) are coming down to race with me, some for the 5k, some for the half marathon. It will hopefully be tons of fun. I know the training has been so good for me. I've lost 15 pounds since the beginning of the year.Love to read the updates on the adoption work. Did you read this story in the Trib? I'd be very interested to hear your opinion of the situation, if you ever care to give it.http://www.sltrib.com/ci_14749462?IADID=Search-www.sltrib.com-www.sltrib.comKeep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

