Lose it again – week 3

Phew, this week has been interesting. First the hubs went to Seattle for a couple of days leaving me to parent alone. Then he ran the Wasatch Back on Friday and Saturday. Two more days alone. He did the exact same legs as he did last year, only he did better than last year. Which is amazing because he didn’t train at all. Who does that? I wish I was as naturally athletic as him.

So even though I was alone a lot this week, I actually worked out. It felt great! I’m pretty proud of myself. I have noticed that I’ve gone down considerably in my ability. I used to do the hardest program on my elliptical for 90 minutes. I couldn’t even survive 20 minutes on it my first night. I worked out 4 of the 7 days this week. I tried to work out every day but Wednesday I worked such a long day (10.5 hours) that I just wanted to come home, put on the pjs, and veg out in front of the TV. Friday night I had my brother over for some “Daria” while our respective spouses ran up and down mountains. Saturday I was so exhausted from hardly no sleep and being alone with the kids all day I went straight to bed as soon as they did. I still managed to somehow get my butt on the elliptical Sunday night after a day of Father’s Day and birthday celebrations.
Food was a different story for me this week. There were too many cookies, and brownies, and cupcakes just laying around begging to be eaten. I think this next week I’m going to lay off the baked goods and reach for fruit instead. It’s so hard because I have such a sweet tooth and salty tooth which makes junk food that much more appealing.
Despite that I came in 242 calories under budget for the week. I burned 3,204 calories through exercise.
I debated about whether or not to weigh myself. This is a week that mother nature has taught me is better spent off the scale. I did anyway and despite coming in under my calorie budget and essentially burning off a pound in exercise, I gained 1.2 pounds. But that’s what happens when Aunt Flo is in town. I shouldn’t have weighed myself. I’ve heard of women gaining up to 2 pounds during this special week.
Next Monday I’ll be in New York City with a different scale so I don’t think I’ll be weighing myself. Luckily there will be lots of walking going on to burn off all the good food I will be eating. I think when I get back from NYC, I’m going to try to burn 1,000 calories a day just to see what happens. Hey, I’ve got to build up my endurance for the half marathon so I might as well.
Rock on peeps, on to week 4….
Leave a Reply

