New York!

“New York,
concrete jungle where dreams are made of,
there’s nothing you can’t do.
Now you’re in New York,
these streets will make you feel brand new,
big lights will inspire you,
let’s hear it for New York,
New York,
New York!”
-Alicia Keys

There’s something about coming to New York that gives me renewed energy. It is simply a city full of life. The best part it is a city that embraces all races, all ancestries, all sexual orientations, all socio-economic backgrounds, et al. Everyone is welcome. They truly live up to the poem imprinted on the Statue of Liberty. It’s amazing to be surrounded by so many people of so many different backgrounds and they’re all just comfortable with each other. They work and live together without the angst of differences.

This is just the vacation I needed to renew my energy and get back my zest for life. This is my third trip to NYC and it always leaves me rejuvenated. I’ve needed to get that back. I’ve been in a funk lately and this is the shot in the arm I needed to jolt me back into really living.

My time here is only half over and we still have four days planned of amazing things to do. So far I’ve been to the Met (the Metropolitan Museum of Art), the MoMA (the Museum of Modern Art), explored Central Park (my favorite part of the city), seen Shakespeare in the park, ridden the Subway, watched a tranny get arrested, was heckled by a man when we politely said we didn’t have any spare change (his reaction – what a bunch of snobs! You’re a snob!), and have walked my feet off. We still have lots of great things planned.


One of the coolest things I’ve done so far is see Van Gogh’s famous painting “Starry Night.” My favorite artists are the impressionists and Van Gogh is my second favorite (Monet being the first). To see that iconic painting in person and to get close enough to see the brush strokes? Amazing. No print could ever compare.

I heart New York!
One thought on “New York!

Leave a Reply

