Waterfall Canyon


Last Friday I must have been smoking some serious crack (totally joking) because I started chatting with my sister online and we decided to hike up to Waterfall canyon on Monday once I was back from my vacation.

I don’t know what’s wrong with me. For some reason I thought that Waterfall was a pretty easy hike. So we packed up the kids, some lunch, and some water bottles and met my sister and her family in the parking lot at the bottom of the trail. The trail started out easy and I thought I could handle it. Being a Utahn I’ve been on a billiondy hikes in my life. We got about half way there when all of a sudden the trail turned into rocks. We were literally mountain climbing to get up to the top. I wanted to give up so many times. The only thing that kept me going was knowing how many calories I was going to burn because of it. How sad is that? Of course once we got there the waterfall was just magnificent and worth the strenuous 1,000 feet straight up a rock face hike. And the view of the entire Ogden valley once we got there was just breath-taking (I can see my house from here!).
It took us an hour and a half to get up there. I’d say that’s pretty good with 4 adults looking after 6 kids. The hubs was a rock star as he carried baby toddler on his shoulders the entire way. I think the way down was scarier because I am deathly afraid of falling and we were walking on some pretty loose rocks. I’m so proud of my kids! They were great. They didn’t complain, they had fun, and they did it without any of our help.
Now my thighs are killing me. Killing me. I came home from the hike, took a shower, and then a nap. And you know what? I felt great the rest of the day. That’s what I love about exercise. Today I’m paying for it though. Thank goodness for Ibuprofen.
I’m excited to go back and do it again. Maybe in another year!
One thought on “Waterfall Canyon

Leave a Reply

