I LOVE SUMMER

Summer is my favorite season. I love the warm weather, the long days, the chilled out attitude. I don’t know if it’s because I’m a summer baby. Or that I’m a Leo and supposedly we’re ruled by the sun. Or if it’s because summer is the only season where my asthma isn’t bothered by the cold and/or wet weather. Here is my list of reason why I love summer.

1 – Flip flops. I love just throwing them on and running out the door.
2 – No coats. It’s so easy to leave the house when I’m not finding 3 coats, 3 pairs of snow boots, 3 knit hats, 3 pairs of gloves, for my 3 children. Not to mention my own.
3 – I can leave my house without the fear of contracting pneumonia and ending up in the hospital.
4 – Long walks outside instead of inside on a boring old treadmill or elliptical.
5 – It doesn’t get dark until late. Really late.
6 – No school for the kids, which means sleeping in for me. And no helping with those blasted homework sheets!
7 – BBQs. I love eating dinner outside in the evening. Not to mention scarfing down hamburgers and potato salad to my heart’s content.
8 – Swimming. I am a total water baby. When I was a little girl I literally spent all summer in my swimsuit. This year I’m spending my entire birthday at a local swim park.
9 – The renewed energy and spirit that summer brings.
10 – Holidays, vacations, being lazy, and just relaxing.
11 – Camping, hiking, fishing, boating, and just enjoying nature.
12 – Our yearly trip to Bear Lake with the fam.
13 – My birthday!
14 – Trips up the hubs’ grandparent’s cabin. I love the quaking Aspens. The sound of the wind as it blows through the leaves is the most relaxing sound on earth.
15 – Popsicles, ice cream, and Creamies.
16 – Fireworks. I especially love the look on my kids’ face when they watch fireworks.
17 – Eating cold cereal and sandwiches for dinner because it’s too hot to cook.
18 – Walks with the fam on Sunday evenings.
19 – Wearing shorts every day.
20 – Running through sprinklers! Even as an adult.
*Edited to add* 21 – Camping up at Black Smith Fork Canyon and tubing down the ice cold river with my favorite cousins. Actually, I love everything about BSFC. The smell of the lilacs, roasting hot dogs and marshmallows over an open fire, visiting with my family, swinging so high on the swings that you can touch the leaves. Aww….good memories.
22 – Watching the joy on my children’s faces because they love summer and are having so much fun every day. I love that they’re making memories. They are so tan right now because they literally spend every waking moment outside. I only see them at meal time. It makes me happy knowing that they’re happy.
What do you love about summer?
5 thoughts on “I LOVE SUMMER

  1. I like all the things you mentioned in addition to having my niece and nephew some into town and the loverly vitamin D from the sun that makes me feel good 🙂

  2. Love the new look. We were at the DI next to your work Friday, but didn't think you were likely to be there, so we didn't drop in. But we thought of you. Maybe we'll see you while we are up this summer. I like summer, too. But given the location of my home, I like spring and fall better. Summer is just too blasted hot!! Love you.

  3. Yeah, I never work on Fridays if I can help it! Our new office is super nice though…and I have my name on the door! I forgot one thing that I love about summer…I might have to edit my post. Camping up at Black Smith Fork Canyon and tubing down the river with my favorite Tomany cousins! Love you 2!

Leave a Reply

