Connundrum

Last year my friend Kari talked me into doing the Ogden Half Marathon. This year she’s trying to talk me out of doing the Top of Utah Half Marathon.

Last year we trained our butts off. We did our long walks every Saturday faithfully. We did our shorter walks during the week despite being tired or sick or after having worked all day long.
This year, Kari hasn’t trained as much as she would like. And I’ve been sick the last couple of weeks. We have a hotel room reserved near the starting point of the race. Kari is trying to talk me into having a Girl’s Night and not doing the race.
I don’t know what to do.
On the one hand I paid the entrance fee for the race ($35). I have somewhat trained. The last long walk I went on was 8 miles, which is pretty darn good.
On the other hand, I have been sick and haven’t walked in a good 2 weeks. The race is in 9 days and I know I’m not prepared. I’ve been anxious about it myself, and Kari not wanting to do the race with me, makes me not want to do it either.
Sigh.
I don’t know what to do.
I don’t really want to the race. I already proved to myself once that I could. But I’m also worried that if I don’t have a goal to work toward, than I won’t work out.
Sigh.
3 thoughts on “Connundrum

  1. DO IT! Remember that feeling of wow, I accomplished something amazing and it felt so incredibly good (despite the pain, the torture, and the feeling of never wanting to do it again) You have to show yourself you can overcome obstacles and push through hard times-why else would anyone do a half, full, or even Ragnar marathon? (If I didn't have a very important hair appointment that morning I would do it with you) but yet here is your chance to do something for yourself and only you!

  2. Hmmmm that is a conundrum. If you do the race does Kari have something else she can do or will she just not go at all?Will it take pretty much the whole time you are there or just part of it?What do you think you would feel worse about, not doing the race or not spending time with your friend?Hmmm… to me, depending on the friend, of course, I would probably pass up on the race and spend time with the friend,… then again, I've never done a race and actually they kid of scare me lolDo what you feel is best… I think you probably already know but it's such a close decision that you just need someone elses opinion to solidify your own, one way or another. I think you would be fine either way 🙂

  3. It's not that I don't want to do the race with you, it's just that we aren't ready. And my blisters are still healing from the last one I did! And massages and window shopping would be a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

