History of my Cell phones

I was 28 years old when I got my first cell phone. That was only 4 years ago. I was a hold-out for a long time. I relied on a landline long after it was necessary. I just never saw the point of a cell phone. I was either at home or work, and if I wasn’t, you could just leave me a message. Sure, there were frustrating times when I needed to get ahold of the hubs, or vice versa, and a cell phone would have made that a lot easier, but still we got by. Then I went back to school. Suddenly I was faced with a situation where I would be in class and if there was an emergency or problem with my kids, no one would be able to get ahold of me. This scared me. The hubs and I tried looking into some cell phone plans, but with me being a full-time student and him supporting a family of 4 by himself, that was virtually financially impossible. Then the hubs got a bright idea at Target one night. He purchased me a Virgin Mobile pay-as-you-go phone. It was the cheapest one they had. I was such a cell phone novice I barely knew how to use it.
Here it is. My first cell phone.

Looking at it now, I can’t believe how primitive it looks. All my friends had phones that could “do stuff.” I don’t think this bad boy could even text. And if it could, I didn’t know how. I was just glad it dialed numbers.

Then in October of 2007, I was hired at my current place of employment. Part of my job is being on call constantly for my clients (I draw the line at hours where normal people are asleep…unless a baby is being born) and because of that, they gave me a cell phone. This is the first work cell I ever had.

Sony Ericsson POS
It was a hand-me-down from the caseworker before me. I don’t remember the screen ever being that clear. I could barely read the screen. The caseworker had wiped all the contacts clean in it except two, which I never understood considering I inherited all her old clients and therefore needed their numbers. I carried this phone around, along with my Virgin Mobile phone, and it got very confusing. Honestly, I had all but forgotten about this phone because it was such a piece of crap, I had blocked it out of my memory. Thankfully, someone at headquarters showed mercy on me and I was able to get a new cell phone soon after I was hired.
This is work phone number two.

Nokia of Unknown Name
This marked the second time I had to enter in all my contacts by hand. I liked this phone much better. And when they told us we could use our phones for personal use because of the unlimited calls/texts plan they got, well the hubs inherited my Virgin Mobile phone. He quickly grew tired of constantly having to “top up.” Their term for paying money to make your phone work. He upgraded a couple of times and finally ended up with an iPhone. He still has the number I got from my Virgin Mobile phone, which I think is kind of funny.
This phone is the phone that taught me how to properly used a cell phone. My cool-as-a-Slurpee sister-in-law, Holly, taught me how to text on this phone. Thank goodness for her! The way I was texting before was too slow to be effective. Small nations are conquered in less time. I was really sad when Headquarters secured a contract with Sprint and we were all given new phones. I had grown really attached to this little Nokia.


This is my 3rd work cell phone.

Samsung Sprint Intrepid
It’s weird that I’m talking about this phone in the past tense because I just barely stopped using it yesterday. People constantly asked me if this phone was a Blackberry and it is not. It’s the stupidest smart phone I’ve ever encountered. If I put this phone to my left ear instead of my right ear in my office, I couldn’t get reception. By the time I had this phone, I had gotten used to using the hubs’ iPhone and had an iPod touch of my own. So I was used to their easy-to-use touch screens. The touch screen on this phone is the exact opposite of easy-to-use. I can’t even tell you how frustrating this phone is. I don’t know how many times I yelled at this phone or wanted to throw it through a wall. And it marked the 3rd time I had to enter my contacts in by hand. Apparently everyone in the system was annoyed by this phone. I got this phone in the middle of an adoption placement and during our move into our current home, both situations requiring reliable service, and it was nerve wracking. It took me a looooooonnnnng time to know how to use this phone. I think the only thing I liked about it was it had a tip calculator. That was nice at a restaurant.
This is my current phone as of yesterday.

Droid X
Not willing to enter in my contacts by hand for a 4th time in 3 years, I figured out that if I put all my contacts into my work Outlook contacts list, they would automatically transfer once I set up my corporate email account on this phone. I can type on a keyboard much faster than a phone, so I was stoked. It took me roughly 4 hours to do it. I was doing it from home yesterday when I finally finished. I know way too many people professionally. When I was done, I deleted all my contacts and texts. But I couldn’t figure out a way to take off my work email and my personal email. I tried everything I could think of. The Intrepid is very user-unfriendly. Finally I had to call customer service where they gave me the combination of numbers and code to take it back to factory settings. What annoyed me is them asking me my account name and number when I explained it was a corporate phone. Please, just tell me how to wipe it clean.
Next I tried to activate my new Droid. The instructions that were sent by Headquarters were for the Droid 2, not the X. Finally I googled it and I found instructions online that taught me how to activate the dang thing. I was able to put my corporate email on there, but I was perplexed because my contacts from Outlook didn’t transfer. So I logged into my work email and went to the Contacts folder. Nothing was there. Everything was gone. I had spent 4 hours and 2 different days putting all those phone numbers and email addresses in there. I was freaking out.
I called our contact at Headquarters who told me to call Verizon. The customer service lady asked me what my account name and number was, and again I had to explain that it was a corporate phone and I didn’t know. After trying to convince me to use Verizon’s “Back-up Assistant,” I realized that they couldn’t do anything. They had no idea why activating my phone would delete my work contacts. Finally I called the Global Help Desk for my work. The brave young genius who helped me was able to restore all my contacts (this was after a mini-meltdown by me that involved crying and a lot of swearing). I was so grateful I offered to bear his children.
After a few minutes, all of my work contacts showed up. I found out that if you sign in to Facebook, the Droid X pulls all your contacts from there too. And it pulled all the contacts from my own personal email account. Now I probably have a billiondy contacts in that phone.
I’ve been using this Droid X for a little over a day and I have to say I like it. Using the iPhone and iPod Touch prepared me for the touch screen on this phone. It’s very easy to use and the screen is so clear and crisp. I don’t want to throw it through a wall (well, now that my contacts were successfully saved) every time I use it. We’ll have to see how it goes.
I’m just grateful because when I was looking through the paperwork they sent me with this phone, it said that this was a 2 year contract. Sigh of relief. Four work phones in 3 years and five cell phones period in four years is a lot to get used to. Some constancy would be nice for a couple of years.
It was so much simpler when I only had a landline.
One thought on “History of my Cell phones

  1. Jer would be jealous šŸ™‚ he sels the Droid X at work but I'm a holdout on the landlines (because that is required for him to get his work discount on all things telephone) and I only have a pay as you go for now. Though I love love love my sisters droid. So handy! šŸ™‚ Hope you'll love it as much as she does!

Leave a Reply

