February 12th

Dear Mom,

Happy Birthday! Today you would have turned 66. I remember when I was little figuring out that when you were 66 and I was 33, I would finally be half your age. I guess I didn’t count on you not living to see 66.
We all miss you. I know I think of you every day. Today I was looking at some pictures of you and I caught myself smiling. I’m glad that looking at your picture now brings joy to my heart instead of sadness.
Some people are regretful when someone they love dies because they left with so many things unsaid. I know there was nothing left unsaid between us. That brings me peace. I know you loved me in this life. And you know that I love you.
I know no one is perfect and we all make mistakes. And this parenting stuff is hard. But I know you tried your best. You were the perfect mom for us. What I loved and appreciated most is that you always accepted me for who I was. I know that you had an unconditional love for me.
Thank you for everything you did for me. Thank you for the things that you sacrificed on my behalf so that I could have an education, grow up in a safe place, and have all my needs met. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for giving me my roots and for your belief in me.
Today we celebrate you. For the beautiful life you had. No, not everything was perfect and you suffered some real hurts. But your courage, grace, and humor touched every who knew you.
I love you, Mom. You are always, always in my heart.
Love,
Your Girl Baby
“For Good” from the musical Wicked
I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you…

Like a comet pulled from orbit
As it passes a sun
Like a stream that meets a boulder
Halfway through the wood
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?
But because I knew you
I have been changed for good

It well may be
That we will never meet again
In this lifetime
So let me say before we part
So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you have re-written mine
By being my friend…

Like a ship blown from its mooring
By a wind off the sea
Like a seed dropped by a skybird
In a distant wood
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?
But because I knew you
I have been changed
For Good








One thought on “February 12th

Leave a Reply

