I Heart Frogurt

I’m starting a new feature on my blog called, “I Heart…” where I feature local (Utah) businesses or just different things I like and talk about how much I like them. I’m not being paid my anyone to endorse these businesses or products. It’s just things I like.

I will admit, there was about a year and a half in my life where I worked at a Frozen Yogurt shop called “Golden Swirl.” I was 18, then 19 years old. We had frozen yogurt, ice cream, and smoothies. I had never really had frozen yogurt before and fell in like with it working there. It was a fun job. Most of the people who worked there were in college or high school. And yes, I was fired. Fired because I was sick, even though I had a doctor’s note. Well, I complained to the District Manager and I was offered my job back, but I decided to move on. It was the right thing to do since Golden Swirl went out of business several months later.

I have very fond memories of my “Swirly Girl” days. There were a lot of cross-business romances with the video stores guys in our same mini-mall. There was a lot of white gummi bear snitching from me. I made friends with co-workers that I’m still friends with today. I even had a stalker who came and visited me nightly and even held me captive behind the counter as he sang Journey songs to me. And people wonder why Journey makes me shudder.


Anyway, since that time I haven’t really seen any frozen yogurt shops around the Valley. Now they’re popping up all over the place. I’ve been to a couple and I have to admit that Frogurt in Riverdale is my absolute fave.

They have a million flavors and 20 billion toppings! Actually it’s only like 50, but when you can put fresh fruit, Capn’ Crunch, and peanut butter cups on your yogurt, you know there are a lot of toppings. I love Frogurt because you swirl your own yogurt. They have two cup sizes and you can choose how much or how little you want. And being a master swirler, I can always get my yogurt swirls just right. Some talents you just don’t lose. Then you can put whatever toppings you want on your yogurt. After you’re done making the most perfect yogurt and topping confection you can, you put it on a scale and they weigh it. They only charge 35 cents an ounce!

No matter how many cool flavors they have like Blueberry Tart, Pomegranate, or Pineapple, my favorite is the chocolate and vanilla swirl. I like to kick it old school. Then I top it with a generous helping of cookie dough.

The best part….four ounces of frozen yogurt is only 2 pointplus! You just can’t get a better sweet treat than that.

If you’re in the area, check out your local Frogurt. I’ll be the one hoarding all the cookie dough and/or white gummi bears (I only like the white ones).

One thought on “I Heart Frogurt

  1. Aha! More info on the Journey mystery. Sounds creepy. I like frozen yogurt, too. And Cap'n Crunch is the best. I might have to give this place a try next time I'm up north.

Leave a Reply

