Self Worth

Favorite Quotations
“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Marrianne Williamson

I’ve seen this quote attributed to a lot of people. Most notably Nelson Mandela during his inauguration speech. I just love it. I honestly believe that most people do not know their own worth or power. I work with a lot of people in crisis situations and the first thing that they forget is that they are powerful enough to change their own lives.
Self-worth? What is it? It is defined as the sense of one’s own value or worth as a person. I believe that most people don’t know of their own worth. I recently met a women who kept apologizing for being stupid in her comments on a blog. When I had read her comments prior I thought she had great points and was very intelligent. Why did she feel the need to apologize? She didn’t esteem her own comments as being as intelligent or as thoughtful as everyone else’s and I just couldn’t understand that. So I told her she wasn’t allowed to call herself stupid anymore.
Is it that we’re so afraid of seeming stuck-up or arrogant or full of ourselves that we won’t even acknowledge our attributes? I refuse to demean myself so that others won’t think that I am not arrogant or whatever. However, some people mistake confidence for arrogance. Believe me, I’m deeply aware of all of my faults and I’m on a continual path of learning and trying to improve. But I refuse to, in the process, not acknowledge that some aspects of my personhood are pretty freaking great.
And you should too!
I firmly believe that everyone has at least one redeemable quality. Except for Donald Trump. Everyone has something to offer and give the world. It’s not all the same, and we all have different talents, but we all have something to give. And it is good. I love Katy Perry’s new hit song, “Firework,” because it’s one big dance single about acknowledging your own awesomeness.

You don’t have to feel like a waste of space
You’re original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After the hurricane comes the rainbows.
Maybe your reason why all the doors are closed
So you could open one that leads you to the perfect road
Like a lightning bolt, you heart will blow
And when it’s time you’ll know
You just gotta ignite the light
And let it shine
Just own the night like the Fourth of July
‘Cause baby you’re a firework!
C’mon show ‘em what your worth.
Make ‘em go “Oh! Oh! Oh!”
As you shoot across the sky, I, I
Love that song. Whenever I’m getting tired while jogging on the elliptical, I put that song in and remember that I can do really hard things because I have that power within me.
And so do you!
Don’t ever let anyone tell you you’re not awesome. Don’t ever listen to the haters who have nothing better to do than to drag others down to make themselves feel better. Don’t ever tell yourself that you’re not good enough. It’s not true! Sure, we all have things we can work on in ourselves…but let’s acknowledge all the pretty freaking great things about ourselves along the way. If you’re not going to pat your own back, how can you expect anyone else to? You have to give to yourself, before you can give to others.
Today you are you!
That is truer than true.
There is no one alive
That is youer than you.
So, shout aloud, “I’m a glad
To be who I am!
Thank goodness I am not
A clam or a ham or a dusty old jar
Of Gooseberry jam.”
I am what I am
WHAT A GREAT THING TO BE!
If I do say so myself,
“Happy Every day to Me!”
-Dr. Suess
2 thoughts on “Self Worth

  1. I love that quote! One of my favorites. It's a fine line, trying to not hold back on your strengths, yet trying to keep the focus on others and service, etc. I love who you are, Marisa. And although you and I disagree on many things, I would never change a thing about you. Love you!

  2. Thanks Jen, I love you too.And I don't think disagreeing on certain issues should be any basis to withhold friendship or love from anyone. How we learn is by challenging our own points of view.(Unfortunately I've encountered too many people who think that they can't get along with someone because they don't have the exact same world view).

Leave a Reply

