Easter in my Favorite Holiday

I love Easter. I love it more than any other holiday. To me it’s better than Christmas, Halloween, and all the other holidays put together, both secular and religious.

When I tell others that Easter is my favorite they always ask me why. I have found that most people name Christmas as their favorite holiday. Not me. I look forward to Easter all year.
Here is why:
1 – Spring. I hate the cold and winter and Spring reminds us that after the darkness, light and warmth will come again.
2 – What other holiday do you get a new dress and shoes? (If, you know, you’re into that).
3 – Easter candy. I love Easter candy more than Halloween and Christmas candy. Hello, can anyone say Cadbury Mini-eggs? Mini whopper eggs? Jelly Beans? Peeps? Okay, I hate Peeps, but a lot of people like them.
But most importantly I love Easter because on this day I celebrate the Resurrection and Life of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Yes, Christmas is important because we celebrate His birth. However, I believe that Easter is more important because it is when Christ fulfilled his mission on earth. I testify that he bled from every pore in the Garden of Gethsemane for me and you. He atoned for our sins. He prepared the way for me to return to live with my Heavenly parents some day. And then, he was betrayed by one of his own for 30 pieces of silver. He was beaten. Whipped. Tortured. A crown of thorns was placed on his head. He walked with his own cross on his back. Then he was nailed to this cross. First through his hands, then his wrists, and finally his feet. He hung there for three days before he finally died. But the miracle of this story is that three days later he rose again.
He is risen!
I gave a talk in Sacrament meeting a few years back on Easter. The most important thing that I learned from researching the talk is Jesus is STILL healing the sick, teaching the lame to walk, giving the blind their sight, and performing all manner of miracles. His mortal body died on the cross, but his Resurrected body lives.
Jesus Christ is the reason why I love Easter.
Please enjoy this Easter message from Elder Jeffery R. Holland.
God bless.
Leave a Reply

