No more Drama

“There comes a time in life when you walk away from all the drama and people who cause it. Surround yourself with people who make you laugh. Forget the bad, and focus on the good. Love the people who treat you right, and pray for those who don’t. Life is too short to be anything but happy. Falling down is a part of LIFE; getting back up is LIVING.”


One of my besties, K, posted this on Facebook a while back when she decided to stop letting drama, and the people who cause it, into her life and cause her pain. Even if they share DNA.

I love this quote. This is how I feel. I stopped taking anyone’s crap a long time ago. The truth is I’m a very easy person to get along with. I forgive and forget quickly. I want to have good relationships with people in my life. I’m willing to overlook stupid stuff in others as long as they are willing to overlook my stupidity and foot-in-the-mouth disease. It’s funny, a few of my friends I started out having fights with when we first met, and then it turns around and we end up as friends. I’m a very, very direct person and that doesn’t come off well with some people when they first meet me. But once they realize I’m as cool as a Slurpee, they come to accept my direct nature.

However,

and this is a big however,


I refuse to allow drama in my life. I’ve had enough real drama (i.e. cancer in multiple family members, death of my mother, etc.) that I don’t need petty, petty stuff clogging up my life. I don’t need immature, childish people who like to either start problems or hold onto grudges long, long past their expiration date in my life. I don’t want tattletales, drama starters, pot stirrers, grudge holders, unforgiverers, meddlers, back stabbers, etc. in my life.

I think everyone pretty much wants the same thing, except they’re too nice or will feel too much guilt to excise that person out of their life. Time to get the exacto knife.

That is why I love that quote. I only want to be a healthy person who attracts other healthy people in my life. I learned from Margaret Ruth that happy, healthy, joyful, whole people attract other happy, healthy, joyful, whole people into their lives. That’s why I’m constantly working on myself. I only want to put out good things into the world. And that is why I’m declaring “no more drama” in my life.

One thought on “No more Drama

  1. Great post! It's too bad that those of us who refuse to nurture the drama of other people are usually accused of being cruel or uncaring. But then I guess it's partially true because…I really don't care after a certain point!

Leave a Reply

