PROM

I’ve been promising a post on Prom for a couple of weeks now, and I finally have a chance to write it.

What is Prom?
In the United States and Canada, a prom, short for promenade, is a formal (black tie) dance, or gathering of high school students. It is typically held near the end of the senior year. It figures greatly in popular culture and is a major event among high school students. High school juniors attending the prom may call it Junior Prom while high school seniors may call it Senior Prom. In practice this may be a combined junior/senior dance. (from Wikipedia).
I have a depressing history with Prom. My parents wouldn’t let me date until I was 16. I didn’t turn 16 until the summer before my junior year in high school. Thus, I did not attend Prom my Sophomore year. However, the two years in high school where I could have gone to Prom, I was not asked. Not shocking to me. I wasn’t asked out a lot in high school. I don’t know why. Maybe I wasn’t cute enough, or popular enough, or slutty at all, or too smart, or just not attractive to my male peers. Who knows? I’ve blocked out most of high school, expect for the fun parts, so I can’t answer that.
I did have a crush on one of my good friends, Scott, my junior year. I ended up helping him film a video with our other friend, Scott, asking out this girl for Prom. It’s kind of a like a kick in the pants now. We ended up dating later and were girlfriend/boyfriend for a few months. We broke up before we had a chance to go to Prom together our Senior year. Me and my friends had an anti-Prom party and it was probably more fun than actually going to Prom. Although I would have appreciated dressing up in a Formal dress and looking pretty for once in my life.
Then in college I joined a sorority. And I had the chance to go to 3 Winter Formals, which in my mind I told myself made up for not attending Prom in high school. My second Winter Formal, I wore a beautiful amethyst colored ball gown. It had a corset-like bodice and a full ball skirt. I wish I had scanned a picture of it so I could post it on the blog. It was gorgeous. What’s funny is I never liked the color purple and would have never worn it unless the shop owner hadn’t suggested it. I was wearing a brown version of the dress and really liked the shape on me and she suggest the purple to go with my blonde hair, blue eyes, and fair sin. I didn’t want to do it, but I humored her, and ended up falling in love with myself in purple. I never knew it would be a good color on me.
Anyway, I’m telling you these stories to tell you another one. A year and a halfish ago the hubs and I built a house and moved our family to a small town. I love this town. The people here are some of the kindest, most generous I’ve ever met. And then in church they announced they were having an Adult Prom for the whole town. They encouraged husbands to ask their wives in a fun, high schooly kind of way, and encouraged everyone to either wear formals or their best dress. Some of the women in my neighborhood have organized a Prom group to go to dinner beforehand and even an after-Prom party at one of their houses.
My goal with Weight Watchers was to lose 10 pounds by Prom so I can wear a really cute dress. (I’m thinking cocktail dress because a full-blown gown would look kind of silly on me now, and really, when would I wear it again?). I need to look uber-hot because this is my first Prom. I also have another personal reason for wanting to look drop-dead gorgeous at Prom, but I think I’ll save that story for another time. Maybe after Prom?
So, that’s the story of Prom. I can’t believe I’m 32 years old, worried about losing weight and finding a gorgeous dress for Prom. Weird how life happens that way.
2 thoughts on “PROM

  1. I went to both Junior and Senior Proms. One was a pity date with a not-in-high-school friend of a friend, and the other was with a guy who was just a friend. Neither was fabulous. The date with the friend constitutes the only time I was asked out in high school. All the other things I went to, I did the asking. Age has given me the perspective to appreciate this rather than regret it. I hope I can be super-supportive of my daughters when they don't get asked out a lot in high school. (Knock on wood.)

Leave a Reply

