I Heart Wasatch Chiropractic

I love going to the chiropractor. I can honestly say that my chiropractor has changed my life. I hope he doesn’t mind me gushing over him.

It was November of 2005 and the hubs called me and said that he had gone to this health fair at work and had met a chiropractor by the name of Dr. Cole McMillan. At that time he had his office just around the corner from our house. Dr. Cole (that’s what we call him) scanned the hubs’ spine and gave him an adjustment. The hubs started explaining the benefits of chiropractic care and how all the nerves in the spine connect to every part of your body, so if something is off (called a “subluxation”) it effects that part of your body that nerve is connected to. I had just spent a harried semester trying to pass Human Biology and from what everything I learned, what the hubs said made sense. So I agreed to check it out.
Dr. Cole scanned my spine and it showed trouble spots in my lungs and kidneys. As a life-long severe asthmatic and a frequent enjoyer of kidney infections, the scan rang true. My first adjustment hurt and I was sore for a few days after. At that time, I was getting adjustments about three days a week. I wish I still could. My insurance will only pay for 30 visits a year.
At that time, our son (the now strapping 7 year old) was almost 2 and he was diagnosed with asthma after a very harrowing bout and hospitalization with RSV. We were frequently giving him nebulizer treatments and dealing with his wheezing. Dr. Cole said that you can’t prove that chiropractic care will cure asthma, but it can help. I know it has helped me. I can always tell if it has been a while since I’ve seen Dr. Cole because my lungs will hurt. Well, I can’t prove anything, but our son was diagnosed with asthma at age 2. By the time he went to his kindergarten check-up there was no trace of asthma. This was after three solid years of chiropractic care.
These are just some of the benefits that I have reaped from seeing Dr. Cole:
1 – Working out is hard on my body and often my hips will feel out of place. When I did the half marathon two years ago, the hubs’ aunt remarked that it looked like one of my legs was longer than the other. One trip to Dr. Cole after that and I was put back together.
2 – When I was pregnant with my first two, the place where my hips met my spine was in constant pain. The hubs would rub at that spot with his fist for hours and I would barely get any relief. During my third pregnancy, I got frequent chiropractic care. My third baby was a full 3 pounds bigger at birth than my last baby. I had more weight on my spine and I weighed more than I ever have in any pregnancy. Despite all this, that spot on my back hardly ever hurt. I think the hubs only ever had to massage it twice during that entire pregnancy. I know that chiropractic care helped me with that pregnancy.
3 – I also get frequent and very painful knots in my shoulders due to the extra weight I carry in my brassiere (ha ha) and the adjustments, combined with the massage table, and electric stimulation help these so much. Just recently I had a knot that was giving me grief for days. After just one visit with Dr. Cole the pain that had been plaguing me for a week was gone.
Not only is chiropractic care a wonderful thing for mine and my family’s health, but Dr. Cole is just one cool cat. You couldn’t meet a nicer person. Even during the time when his office no longer contracted with our insurance and we were faced with having to go to a new chiropractor, he agreed to keep just charging us for our regular co-payments until it all got figured out. What other health provider would be willing to do that? My kids love going to see him and he is so patient with them. Way more patient than I am! He believes completely in what he does and he is so educated on health and the body. I swear I’ve seen regular doctors less since I started going to Dr. Cole.
This is what Dr. Cole said about why he is a Doctor of Chiropractic:
Because I honor the inborn potential of everyone to be truly healthy. Because I desire to help the
newborn, the aged, and those without hope. Because I choose to care for the patient with dis-ease, not the disease. Because I wish to assist rather than intrude; to free rather than control. Because I seek to correct the cause, not it’s effect. Because I know doctors do not heal, only the body can heal itself. Because I have been called to serve others. Because I want to make a difference. Because everyday I get to witness miracles.
Because I know it is Right!
So, if you’re in the area and you’re looking for a fantastic chiropractor give Dr. Cole McMillan at Wasatch Chiropractic a call. Here is a link to his info page.
One thought on “I Heart Wasatch Chiropractic

Leave a Reply

