We’re moving to Washington

It’s true.

The hubs was offered a job with a “high tech company” doing what he’s was doing at his last job, only with a huge pay increase. In this economy, we would have been crazy to turn it down. Having to relocate to the Seattle area is the only drawback. The good news is, they’ve given us a year to relocate.
I’ve known for a couple of months now when they started heavily recruiting him. I was in denial for a quite a while, not wanting to leave the only place I’ve ever called home. In fact, I’ve been kind of depressed about it, which is why I haven’t written much as of late.
It’s very bittersweet.
On one hand, it’s a great opportunity for the hubs. I’m so proud of him for all his hard work and excelling in his career without a formal education. He works so hard for our family and I’m happy that someone, besides me, finally recognizes how awesome he is. The University of Washington has a great Masters of Social Work program and I’d love to be accepted once the wee one is in school full-time. The school system up there is one of the best in the country and it would be nice to be in a state that actually spends money on education.
On the other hand, I don’t want to leave my house, my ward, my neighborhood, my family, my friends, or my beloved job.
I mean, it feels like we just moved into our house! I know it was almost two years ago, but we spent so many years dreaming about it, and so many months picking out everything for it, and it’s just perfect for us. Maybe that’s why I’ve never decorated it…because somewhere in my heart I knew we wouldn’t be here forever.
My ward is awesome. I’ve been blessed to live in a lot of great wards, and this ward is no different. The people in my ward and neighborhood are some of the kindest, most friendly, I’ve ever known. How can I leave when I just keep meeting new and great people? And the town we live in….wow, I never thought I’d love living in a small town in farm country…but this is a great community.
The part I feel guiltiest about is taking my children away from their family. We have a really tight knit family. Most of our leisure activities are done with our families. I feel like they’ve already lost so much when my mother died and my dad and stepmom moved away. I know there’s Skype and phone calls and visits, but it’s not the same as being lucky enough to have your extended family involved in your daily life. I can’t even write this paragraph without tears in my eyes, so I better just move on.
I have really great friends. My Utah bestie, K, is a once-in-a-lifetime kind of friend. What if I don’t meet anyone half as cool as she is in WA? And I feel bad that my kids have to move away from their friends, yet again. Luckily I already know some really cool peeps in the Seattle area.
My job. Sigh. When I told my boss/manager/mentor/friend about the new job and relocation, I was so overcome with emotion I could barely get the words out. I LOVE my job. I have met some of the most incredible people in my life there. I’m constantly inspired. How could you not want to work in a place where you witness miracles on a daily basis? I care so much about my clients and I honestly feel like I’m abandoning them. I’m just happy they’ve given us so much time to sell our house and move because I fully intend to keep working until the moving truck comes and takes me away. Honestly, I’m in denial that I ever have to leave.
Utah is home. It always will be. But it wouldn’t be much of a home without the hubs. Home is where he is. So, I know this will be a good growing experience for our whole family. Don’t get me wrong, I know how incredibly blessed we are. I feel guilty accepting an opportunity like this when I know there are so many families struggling right now. When you get an opportunity like this, you can’t say no. You just can’t.
I’m reminded by one of my favorite quotes by Helen Keller:
Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.
I know this next year is going to be a hard one for our family, having to leave so many things, sell our house, buy a new one, say our goodbyes, etc. But I know it will be character building for all of us and will give us a great chance to grow.
Washington or bust, right?
5 thoughts on “We’re moving to Washington

  1. I totally feel ya!!! Being away from family and friends is no fun! You will meet new friends and your family will always be there for ya. Glad you have a year to figure things out though! Miss ya! Good Luck!

  2. Waaaa! I'm sad šŸ˜¦ We'll miss you guys so much! But I know you guys are going to do great up there, especially the kids. It's a huge change but you can do it! I'm still in denial that you guys are leaving too. It's hard but maybe in 2 years you'll look back at this post and say "I had nothing to be scared of!"

  3. You are right. You won't find anyone in Washington as cool as me! šŸ™‚ Joking aside, I'm really sad you are moving. But, it just gives me an excuse to go on lots of road trips to Washington, and it's not like we don't chat online practically every night. So, we'll still be besties, even if you live far away!

Leave a Reply

