Remember that one time when I told you…

Remember how about 5 posts ago I told you we were packing up the family homestead and moving our small family to Washington? Well, if you don’t here is a refresher for you.

Well, the good news is things have changed. When the hubs was hired on at his new job with a “High Tech Company” one of the stipulations was they wanted us to relocate to the Seattle area. After a lot of thought and prayer, we decided this is where we needed to be. The opportunity was too good. Of course we were sad about leaving our home, our family, our friends, our church family, our neighborhood, and my job.
But then there was some restructuring that took place and the boss that hired the hubs is not the same boss he has now. He has been doing this job for 3 months now, working from home in his home office, and traveling when necessary. His new boss was kind of questioning why we needed to move when the hubs is 2 hours from anywhere in his territory. There are also some great opportunities for his company that he can only pursue for them here. So he gave us the choice to move or to stay.
We decided that as long as it wouldn’t harm anything we had going now and as long as they knew that if the opportunity arose for the hubs to have a greater advancement than where he is now and a move is required (and we will agree to that), then we’d prefer to stay in Utah.
So we’re staying. For now. Well for the foreseeable future.
A lot of people were worried that us not moving meant some sort of demotion for the hubs. Well, it doesn’t. The only thing that is different now is the company isn’t going to be spending a hefty chunk of change relocating us (and neither will we).
To say I’m relieved is an understatement. I had some serious guilt going over taking my kids out of a school, again, and moving them away from their family. We’re lucky to have family nearby that is so supportive of us. To have family that it hurts to think about living without. My kids are very attached to their grandparents, uncles, aunts, and cousins. It was hard thinking about taking that away from them.
Also, I’m more than relieved not to have to leave my beloved job. I couldn’t even bring myself to tell many clients, and now I’m glad I don’t have to. I don’t know how long the Lord wants me to work there, but I will continue to until I feel like my work is done.
So that is our news. I would have never announced a move on here unless I was 100% certain it was going to happen. And at that time it was 100% certain. The funny thing is, the week they told us we didn’t have to move is the same week we had our landscaping and yard put in so we could put our house on the market. I’m glad we don’t have to anymore.
I don’t think we’re going to live in Utah forever. In fact I’m pretty sure at some point we are going to end up in the Pacific Northwest. I’m just happy for right now, we are staying.
Leave a Reply

