Gratitude

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” -John Milton

Tuesday night I went to yoga with K. We like to go to a class that has a really exceptional instructor. Like most yoga instructors she asks the class to set an individual intention for the class. This week she decided that our intention for the class was to focus on gratitude. It was a really excellent class and I got more out of class than I thought I was going to when I came that night. I haven’t been able to go to that class in months and I forgot how much I need that calm, that meditation, that peace that yoga brings.

November is a hard month for me. This November 6th marked the 4 year anniversary of my mother’s passing. When I think of November and Thanksgiving of 2007 I can remember feeling very tender, very raw, very small, and profoundly sad. This year to mark my mother’s life, I went and laid flowers at her grave and told her all the good things that have happened since her passing. I believe she has been a witness to these blessings. I’d like to believe that she might be even facilitating these blessings as a Guardian angel.
And I think it’s important for me to remember all the good things that have happened since her death. It shows me that life goes on and good things will continue to happen. Bad things too, but we live for the good and grow from the bad.
So here is a list of things that I’m grateful that has happened in my family since my beautiful mother said goodbye to us in this life. I think she would be happy that I’m counting my blessings and not dwelling on the sadness of her passing.
1 – The birth of my 3rd child.
2- The marriage of my father and his wife.
3 – My brother graduating from college with his Bachelors degree.
4 – My sister-in-law graduating with her Masters and becoming a Physician’s Assistant.
5 – The marriage of my brother to his wonderful wife.
6 – My sister and brother-in-law purchasing their first home, which they love.
7 – My sister’s new position at work, my brother-in-law finding full-time employment in this economy.
8 – Our new home.
9 – My brother finding full-time employment after graduating that he enjoys.
10 – My brother and sister-in-law buying their first home and only living 3 miles from us.
11 – The hubs new position with a new company.
12 – My daughter finally getting the educational help she needs to be successful.
13 – All of our continued health and happiness.
And although I can’t help but wish she was here with us to experience these joys, she is never far from us. I hear her voice in my head all the time as I know how she would respond or react to situations. Most especially this Thanksgiving I’m grateful that she is my mother. Death cannot stop that. Her imprint is on my heart forever.
“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.” – Melody Beattie
One thought on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

