God Bless Ogden

I don’t know if you’ve heard about what happened in my little Northern Utah city last week.  You can read about it here.

Today Officer Francom is being laid to rest, and literally tens of thousands are aligning along Ogden’s city streets as we speak to honor him.

Unfortunately those Westboro Baptist “church” hate mongers are there protesting at his funeral.  It’s disgusting and I am confident in saying that Jesus is ashamed of them.

The very first post I ever wrote on this blog almost 4 years ago on January 25, 2008 was about these Westboro people when they were planning on protesting at Heath Ledger’s funeral.  I don’t know, it seemed kind of appropriate to revisit that post today.

As a personal note, I am proud to be an Ogdenite.  I was born and raised here, and Ogden gets a bad rap because of our rough and rowdy past, but I love my city.  I’m proud to be a part of a community that when a tragedy of this magnitude happens, we pull together to be there for the families this affects.

If you would like to donate to Agent Francom’s family or any of the other officers who were wounded by this horrible act, please go to any Bank of Utah where accounts have been set up for all 6 of them.

God Bless Ogden.  God Bless the OPD.  God Bless the Francom family.  God Bless all of those who were touched by this tragedy.

2 thoughts on “God Bless Ogden

  1. Ugh, the Westboro people. I remember feeling physically nauseated the first time I saw their website. A friend from high school died in Afghanistan last year and we'd heard the protesters were going to be there. Luckily for me they weren't–I don't think I would have taken it well–I don't know if this had anything to do with it, but the Masons around here do a thing called the Patriot Guard and they were there early to help take care of the protester situation, so I'm grateful if they did do anything. It was awful enough as it was. I just can't understand what these people think they're accomplishing. I've blogged about them before, too. It hurts my heart.

  2. We have Patriot Guard here as well… my dad rides for them. They were at the front of the procession yesterday, they zipped by us about 30 mins before things started. As far as I understand, the Westboro folks didnt show. I am not sure what their deal is…they claim to be so religious, but I see nothing Christ-like in their actions.

Leave a Reply

