30 Day Challenge: Day 1 – Your current relationship

My current relationship is also my future relationship for eternity, I hope.  The hubs and I have been together for almost 13 1/2 years.

This is me and the hubs at the Weber State Homecoming Ball in 1998.  It was the first formal picture ever taken of us.  We had been dating about a month when we attended this dance together.  It was at this dance that my friend Angie told me not to get my hopes up about the hubs because he only dates girls for 2 weeks tops.  I was glad we had this talk, because when I mentioned it to the hubs he told me this relationship was the real thing.  I think we said our first “I love yous” that week.

The hubs and I dated for a year before we were married in the summer of 1999.  We were the first children in both our families to tie the knot.  Both of my parents walked me down the aisle and my mom read a poem that my dad had written (he was too emotional to read it out loud).  We spent our Honeymoon in Jackson Hole and then made our home in an apartment by Weber State University.

A year after we were married, we became pregnant with our first little offspring.  This is the hubs and I at the Institute Valentine’s Day dance in 2001. I was sticking out my stomach so I would look pregnant and not just fat.

The hubs and I became parents to our first (and only to this point) daughter in May 2001.  This picture is obviously from Halloween where we dressed our little pumpkin up like a little pumpkin.

Next came our second child and first son in January 2004.  He was born four weeks early and was hospitalized with RSV when he was 6 weeks old.  We didn’t have family pictures taken until he was almost a year old, I was so afraid of exposing him to germs.

We took our little family of four to the Bountiful temple in June 2005 and were sealed for time and all eternity.  Our daughter acted like an angel that day.  Our son acted like a cranky toddler in desperate need of a nap.  The hubs and I count this as one of the happiest days of our life together.

The hubs and I in front of the Ogden temple, May 2005, when I took out my endowments.  Since they are currently tearing down and remodeling the Ogden temple, I’m so glad I have this picture.  I love that we are hand in hand because we’ve been that way ever since we met.

Then in June 2008 our third child and second son was born.  He was a sweet gift during a very traumatic time.  He gave me something  to live for when what felt like my whole life had been taken away.  Luckily I found out I was pregnant with him early enough to tell my mother before she died.  He has her maiden name as his first name.  He is her little namesake.
Along the way we have some major milestones.
I graduated from college in 2007.
We lost my Mom to pancreatic cancer in November 2007.
We bought out first home and moved into it in November 2009.
The hubs and I were counting up the other night and we figured out that in the last 12 1/2 years of marriage…
We’ve lived in 5 different places.
We’ve had 5 different vehicles
He has worked for 4 different companies
I have worked at 4 different places
He’s had 2 surgeries
I’ve had 20+ kidney infections
I almost died once while giving birth
He almost died once while having surgery
I donated 12 inches of my hair to the Beautiful Lengths campaign
He has effectively lost all his hair
Taken at the hubs’s sister, Holly’s, wedding in September 2006
We’ve had really joyful happy times.  We’ve had really emotionally and financially difficult times.  But through it all we’ve been hand in hand and side by side.  The hubs was by my side through every pregnancy, every birth, every sickness, every birthday, and every good time.  He was there for me during the most important time of my life, when my mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer and died 3 months later.  He carried me during that time and I wouldn’t have been able to survive it without him.  He gave my Mom two blessings and was there with me when I said goodbye to her before the Mortuary came to take her away.  He and my bro-in-law spoke at her funeral.  And he was there for me in the ensuing months when the grief was like a huge wave of pain ready to wash me away.  He stayed strong for me when I was weak and without complaint.
Our 10th Wedding Anniversary in August 2009
I couldn’t ask for a better partner or father for my children.  He is such a good Daddy.  He has been a true partner in every sense of the word while raising our children.  No, he couldn’t carry them in his womb, give birth to them, or nurse them…but he changed each of their first diapers.  He was the first to hold each of them right after birth.  He is involved with them in all their activities. He does homework with them, he plays with them, teaches them new things, is a role model, and he nurtures them like a father should.
And he takes care of me.  And I take care of him right back.  He’s my best friend, my lover, my confidante, my giggle partner, and the one I try out all my jokes on.  Yes, we’ve been through hell and back.  We’ve been through heaven and back too.  Our happy times have out-weighed our hard times.  And I’m happy to say, that I have never regretted, not once, that I married the hubs.  He is the best thing that has ever happened to me.  I’ve never known a better person than him.  The truly crazy part is he loves me back!  Without question and unconditionally.  He has always accepted me for who I was, never tried to change me, and has always, always had my back.  I hope he knows that my love for him is unconditional, eternal, and no matter what, I’ll always be on his side.  It’s a good side to be on.
Photo courtesy of Josh Ashdown Photography (c)
What can I say except I’m a lucky, lucky woman.  

10 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 1 – Your current relationship

  1. Thanks everyone for your comments. I appreciate all the feedback I've gotten on this post, both here and FB. Josh, I forget that we didn't know you until I was pregnant with Cole. It feels like you've always been a part of our family. Amanda, sometimes I can't believe we were only 21 and 23 when we got married. We were babies! Good thing it's turned out so well. Lorraine, thank you so much! I loved my wedding dress too. It had daisies on the bodice that had rhinestones in the middle so it sparkled. When I walked out in it in the bridal shop, both my mother and mother-in-law cried. I wish I still fit in it!

  2. So touching! I love seeing all the pictures. Riss your always good at documenting life! Glad your doing this challange…psst the trick in keeping up is to write a couple of posts in one sitting then schedule when they are posted. Thanks for saying all tose sweet things aobut my big bro he is pretty great huh? and so are you! Love you both!!!

  3. Emily,Thanks! Your big bro is one of the best men I've ever known. I tend to write a lot of posts at once and schedule them out. I do that because sometimes I'm in the mood to write and have a lot to say, and other times not so much. Right now I have about 3 weeks worth of posts scheduled to be published. Sometimes I wish I wasn't so effusive 🙂

Leave a Reply

