30 Day Challenge: Day 3 – Your Top 5 Pet Peeves


#1
It will come as no surprise to anyone who knows me that spelling mistakes really chap my hide.  Seriously, in this day and age of spellcheck, there is no reason for it.  I believe this neurosis of mine comes from having a mother who would read all our notes home from teachers, correct them in red pen, and make us take them back to our teachers.  
These are some of the ones that bug me the most:
A lot is two words.  Two words, people!  It is not alot.  You would never write alittle.  
Awesome is spelled with an “e” in the middle.  It is not awsome no matter how much you want it to be.
Definitely does not have an A in it.  It is not definately.  I’m sorry, it’s just not.
I could go on and on and on about this particular pet peeve, but I won’t.  It would be a really long post.
#2
My number 2 pet peeve, BAD GRAMMAR, goes hand in hand with my first pet peeve.  It’s like nails on a chalkboard to me.  And it’s usually used by people who complain about others coming to American and not knowing the language.  (You can’t even read and write your own language, you huggin’ hypocrite!).  I worked at this place back in the late 90’s where bad grammar was the norm and it took every ounce of my restraint not to constantly correct people.  Here are some of the gems I have encountered.  
“These chickens are froze.”  (What I said in my head:  These chickens are frozEN.  They’re froZEN!)
“We was gonna…”  (What I said in my head:  No, we were going to.  WERE!!!)
“Them is so dumb.”  (What I said in my head:  They are so dumb.  And you can join them.)
“Could of, should of, would of.”  (What I said in my head:  Could HAVE, should HAVE, would HAVE!)
“Is you going to the store?”  (What I said in my head: ARE you, are you going to the dadgum store?)
(As you can tell there’s a fair amount of shouting going on in my head.)
#3
Okay, so I acknowledge that I have a bit of a lead foot (sorry, Josh), but people who drive slowly in the left lane really get on my nerves.  It’s like they never learned in driver’s ed that the left lane is for passing.  There’s a reason for that.  When you pass someone on the right they can’t see you in their blind spot.  Passing someone on the left is actually safer.  I know logic is hard sometimes.  Whenever I see some jerkface parking their slow butt in the left lane for miles on end (especially on a two-lane only highway) making everyone pass them I get so angry.  They are a hazard to traffic.
And Josh, I promise I’ll slow down.  
#4

You see this picture to the right, As Seen on TV people?  They are called Aebleskivers.  They are not Pancake flippin’ puffs.  The first time I saw this at Target I felt like a part of my Danish heritage and history was being slapped in the face.  Aebleskiver means “apple slices” as it is common to put slices of apple (or other fruits) in the middle of them.  Me?  I like them sans fruit and topped with powdered sugar.  My family makes them every year for Christmas.  My cousin Jennifer makes them every General Conference Sunday.  I think I’m going to steal that tradition because I always struggle with trying to turn those suckers every Christmas.  But I digress!  This is a big pet peeve of mine because, like a lot of cultural traditions, someone saw something, renamed it, sold it, and stripped of it’s origins.  This annoys me and I’ve blogged about it before.  

#5

Internet trolls.  Man, do they get on my nerves.  Especially those that hang out on unmoderated new websites just to stir up controversy and cause fights.  Or those who mock people’s religion, disability, sexual orientation, tragedy, etc.  You have to be the lowest scum of society to hurl attacks at someone who is vulnerable or hurting.   These kinds of trolls are the number one reason why I no longer read comments on news websites, as tempting as it is; it makes me lose my faith in humanity.  Another type of internet troll that really is a big pet peeve of mine are those who comment on genre blogs just to derail conversation and incite fights.  And these trolls always, always are anonymous and are hard to track back to their origins.  They’re not interested in insightful conversation.  They are not interested in learning and growing from the regular commenters.  They’re only interested in proving how much smarter, better, educated, or in some cases, “righteous” than those who run the blog and comment on them.  Get over yourself, stupid trolls.  Go back to the swamps and bridges you live under and leave the people who are really invested in discussing a topic with intelligent people alone.  Too much to ask?

That’s all I can take for now.  I need to go hug a puppy or something.

***As always, the things that bother me the most are racism, sexism, ageism, homophobia, religious bigotry, bigotry against those in poverty, and all manner of hatred and evil.  But those topics seemed way too heavy to classify them as a simple “peeve.”  A peeve should be a minor annoyance you can live with.  The social ills I mentioned above should provoke a stronger reaction than just minor annoyance.***

2 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 3 – Your Top 5 Pet Peeves

  1. Good idea…go hug a puppy. That always makes me feel better again. Don't worry about the speed my friend, I'm more of a dope/transient/street cop. I leave the radar speed work to small towns and troopers (I don't even have a radar…never got one)….speed in my hood all you want…just don't sell dope, rob, stabd or shoot anyone and you're good on my watch. On that same note…here is a pet peve of mine. When I drive to work in my patrol car I stay to the right and no one will pass me. I hate that! I end up with a parade behind me and open roads ahead. When I go 65 people call and complain I am holding up traffic. When I go 70-75 they call to complain I am speeding. If you go under 65 they call and complain your doing that on purpose…basically your damned no matter what you do.

  2. Good list. Oh how I agree with the above comment also. I hate when people won't pass a police car (especially if they are going slow). It just causes problems with traffic and drives me insane. So if you ever see me passing you don't pull me over 😉 haha

Leave a Reply

