30 Day Challenge: Day 9 – If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

I went into social work because I like helping people and luckily for me, there are several opportunities within a social work career to work in many different fields.  I’m going to go back and earn my Masters of Social Work when the time is right and when my littles aren’t so little.

But if we’re talking dream jobs…

I’d really like to be a writer.  I love to write, which is one of the reasons I have a blog.  I once watched an informational show about Barbara Kingsolver (one of my favorite writers) talking about writing and I sat enthralled for over an hour.  The hubs walked in the room and said, “I know why you’re watching this.”  And I said, “Because The Poisonwood Bible is one of my all-time favorite books?”  And he said, “no, you want to be a writer.”

And there it was, my deepest desire laid bare in front of me.  How did he know when I never uttered that wish out loud before?  I’ve written a few things here and there, had a few poems published in school Journals, had an essay or so published on a famous (infamous?) blog, but I’ve never sat down and tried to write a story that wasn’t auto-biographical.

My bestie, K, teases me about being a teacher’s pet in college, and the truth is, all of my Social work professors (and a few of my English professors) praised me for my writing ability.  I had a friend and fellow student in my Diversity class once tell me he was always astounded at my abilities to put words together in a passionate way.  But does that make me a writer?  Hardly.

Someday I will put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard, which sounds decidedly less romantic) and compose something that I can be proud of and maybe someone will want to publish.  Someday I’ll have something important to write about.  Until then, I’m having a lot of fun practicing on my blog.

One thought on “30 Day Challenge: Day 9 – If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

  1. I know what you mean. I have a complicated relationship with this desire. 🙂 Until I got to high school I'd always planned on being a writer. Then I realized I suck at writing fiction. I knew I was good at writing essays, but I also really enjoyed editing, so I went into that in college thinking that would be how I participated in the publishing world. Now I actually do a ton of writing on blogs, my own and others, but it's just blog-writing. My husband is a really good fiction writer and I always find myself jealous of him; deep down I guess I still want to be writing those novels.

Leave a Reply

