30 Day Challenge: Day 16 – Your views on Mainstream Music

My views on mainstream music, hmm, if you mean “current” music than I would say I listen to a lot of current music.  If you mean what they play on the Top 40 station, I listen to some of it.

I started taking piano lessons at the age of 8 and grew to love playing and listening to classical music.  Probably my most favorite pieces of music to play are “Ave Maria” by Bach and “Moonlight Sonata” by Beethoven.  My grandpa was a Jazz musician and he instilled a love of Jazz music in me.  So occasionally I’ll pop over to the Jazz station and listen to that on the radio.

My parents raised me listening to the oldies.  I remember many a road trip where we would pop in a cassette of the greatest hits of the 50s and 60s and sing along.  The Beatles were probably the  most popular and mainstream of their time, and they’re mostly what I listen to.  Being a child of the 80s, I love most 80s mainstream music, but most especially New Wave.  If you try to get me to listen to Journey, I’ll rip your face off.  Going to high school in the 90s, I was a big fan of the grunge scene and listened to a lot of “alternative” music.  I think the only period of time that I have not liked the mainstream music since I was born was when Britney Spears and her Boy Band cohorts were topping the charts.  It was a dark time in music, folks.

Since the new millenium, I’ve like a lot of new, mainstream artists that have come out.  I really like Maroon 5’s debut album, Songs about Jane.  I think Adele is a musical genius.  Who could have predicted the meteoric rise and paradigm changing artist such as Lady Gaga?  I’ve really like the albums that P!nk has come out with since the last decade started.  And for some reason I just really, really like Kanye West.  I can turn on the radio and listen to most mainstream music, unless it’s a song from Fall Out Boy or Nickelback (((shudder))).

I don’t know if this essay really encompasses a “view” per se, but when it comes to Mainstream music, it’s constantly changing and you have to change with it or end up sounding like an old fuddy duddy who spouts phrases like, “back in my day….”

Leave a Reply

