30 Day Challenge: Day 18 – A book you can read over and over again and never get sick of it

The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy


I read this my senior year as an assignment in my AP English class and it has become one of my most favorite novels.  Pat Conroy is the “prince of words” and he can make an ordinary high school football game sound magical.  This story of family, secrets, mental illness, and most of all, South Carolina, burns me to my soul every time.  However, do not see the movie and if you have seen the movie, don’t let it influence you not to read this book.  My AP English teacher predicted it would be a classic one day and I believe her.

The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern’s Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure by William Goldman

If you read this book expecting the movie you’ll be sorely disappointed because what you’ll find on the pages of this book is pure fantasy satire.  Goldman introduces himself as the abridger of a book written by S. Morgenstern, when in reality no such book exists.  This book is laugh out loud funny, if you get that sort of thing.

Beauty by Robin McKinley

This re-telling of the Beauty and the Beast story is so engrossing that once I start reading it I can’t put it down.  McKinley is a magnificent writer and sucks you in from the first page.  This is a book I read as a girl which hasn’t lost it’s luster as I’ve aged.

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

I still consider this the best book I’ve ever read.  Kingsolver proved her genius when she wrote this book.  Every chapter in the book is in the first person perspective of five different characters, and they are all so unique that you can tell who is narrating without even reading the chapter headings.  I love this book and Kingsolver is one of the reasons why I want to be a writer.

The President’s Daughter by Ellen Emerson White

I found this book at a book fair in elementary school and went home and immediately devoured the pages.  The story of the first female President of the United States and her daughter spoke to my young feminist soul.  I can’t tell you how many times I read this book, but it never gets old.  It wasn’t until this last year that I found out that White wrote 3 sequels to this book.  I immediately took to Amazon and bought the other 3 and they were just as good as the first.  I heard that White updated this version to make it more “modern” (things like the internet and cell phones which didn’t exist when White wrote this in the ’80s), but I just can’t make myself read the revised version when this edition will always hold a special place in my heart.

There was no way this book nerd could have picked just one book she can read over and over again.

Leave a Reply

