30 Day Challenge: Day 22 – How have you changed in the past 2 years?

How have I changed in the last two years?  Hmm, that’s an interesting question.  Externally, my hair color and length has changed a bunch of times in the last two years.  I’ve gone from this  

 To this


And now this

Every time I go to the salon I tell my stylist to do something different.  I like change and I just can’t keep a style for too long.

More importantly how I’ve changed in the last two years is I’ve learned some pretty big lessons.  One is when people show you who they really are, believe them.  Sometimes I’ve had to learn this over and over again because I tend to give people the benefit of the doubt.  It’s hard lesson to learn that some people have absolutely no compassion, humanity, or forgiveness in their meager hearts.  I don’t want to be more cynical, but necessity dictates it when you’ve come up against someone who shows you their true colors, and they ain’t pretty.

But the flip side of when someone shows you who they truly are you learn how kind, decent, cool, and unusually good they are.  I’m really lucky to have so many friends who rally around me when the chips are down.  I’m so blessed to know people who go out of their way to show kindness even when it’s not fun or convenient.  One of the best ways I’ve changed in the last couple of years is how my heart has grown to include so many wonderfully awesome new friends.  Friends who love instead of judge.

And something I’m always working on, is having more patience.  I feel the older I get and farther into my 30s I go, the more patience I gain.  I don’t suffer fools gladly, but I’m not in such a hurry to get through life anymore.  I think it’s because my babies are growing up so quickly, and I want to hold onto all these precious moments while they’re happening.  Before I knew it my daughter is almost as tall as me and has a shoe size that’s only a size and a half smaller than my own.   I definitely feel now at 33 the swiftness of the years behind me and want to savor each fleeting moment.

Leave a Reply

