30 Day Challenge: Day 28 – Something you miss

Snelgrove’s Malted Milk Ice cream

Snelgrove was a Utah institution for years.  They closed all their shops a few years ago, which means I can never again taste my favorite ice cream flavor in the world:  Malted Milk.

Unlike it’s copy cats, it did not have Whoppers or malted milk ball candies in the middle of it.  It was just pure malt flavoring.  And it was good.  Creamy and delicious…if I close my eyes I can almost taste it again.

Every summer my Mom would drive us down to Sugar House (which seemed really far away back then) and she would buy a 3 gallon tub of Malted Milk ice cream, which we would proceed to eat for the entire summer.  The last time I even had some was when the hubs and I were living with my Grandma and she had some in her deep freeze.  This was 11 years ago.

I miss it.  I miss this ice cream so badly.  No other ice cream flavor can compare.

2 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 28 – Something you miss

  1. Too bad. Their Canadian Vanilla was one of the best vanilla ice creams I've ever had.Target's Belgian Chocolate is wonderful stuff for a great chocolate fix.

  2. Aw, what's with Utah companies going out of business and taking their delicious treats with them? I was so depressed when I found out Hogi Yogi and Teriyaki Stix were disappearing. I ate the hot 'n spicy chicken bowl probably once a week for the entire five years I lived in Utah, and after we moved to Texas, I made sure to get one every time we went back to visit. Sad, sad day.

Leave a Reply

