Book Review – Broken for You by Stephanie Kallos

Broken for YouBroken for You by Stephanie Kallos
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed Broken for You by Stephanie Kallos.  It is about Margaret Hughes, a woman in her 70s who has just been diagnosed with a brain tumor.  Since her son’s death and divorce from her husband, she has lived a sequestered life in her mansion in Seattle, looking after her “things.”  Those things turn out to be antiques that her father use to sell in his antique shop.  After Margaret learns the origin of these antiques, she closes the shop, moves all of those things to her mansion and locks herself away as punishment for the sins of the father.  After her diagnosis, Margaret decides to do something she’s never done before – take in a border.  This is how Wanda Shultz, a professional theater stage manager, comes to live with her.  Over the course of a few years, we see how Margaret’s, Wanda’s, and one special woman’s life intersect over the secret of Margaret’s antiques.

I really enjoyed this book.  It did take me a while to get into it, because it’s a very different kind of book, but after a few chapters I found myself invested in Margaret and Wanda’s stories.  I really enjoyed the imagery Kallos paints in this book.  I felt the over-arching theme of this book was about finding family, even when that family is not blood related.

I would recommend this novel to anyone who loves a good fiction story, but for those who do not like an f-bomb dropped every once in a while, I would not read this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

