November is Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Month

Pancreatic Cancer currently has a 6% five-year survival rate, the lowest among all major cancer killers.  This year alone more than 37,000 Americans will succumb to pancreatic cancer, while nearly 44,000 more will be diagnosed.  And according to a recently released report, the number of pancreatic cancer deaths is on the rise, and it is anticipated to become the second largest cancer killer in the United States by 2020, and possibly as early as 2015 (source: Pancreatic Cancer Action Network).

I have been pretty candid about the role pancreatic cancer has played in my life.  In August 2007 I went over to my mother’s house with the hubs so he could give her a blessing, as she had been really sick as of late.  It was in the dining room where she took me by the hand and told me the doctors had found a large tumor on the tail end of her pancreas during a CAT scan.  That moment changed my life forever.  That moment was the beginning of the end of my mother’s life.  In the last five years, my family has had to learn to pick up the pieces of our lives and acclimate to a “new normal.”  It hasn’t been easy or fun and there are many days I curse pancreatic cancer and what it took from me, what it took from my children, what it took from my siblings, what it took from my nephews and niece, what it took from my father, who it took from this world too young.

November is the month dedicated to raising awareness about Pancreatic cancer and since 2007 I’ve tried to do just that.  Every year I make a donation to the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network.  You can too.  The money goes toward research and helping victims of this horrible disease.

I lost my Mom to this disease.

I lost my Great Aunt Beth to this disease.

We lost the hubs’s paternal Grandfather to this disease.

We don’t want to lose anyone else.

Please help.

Leave a Reply

