Overwhelmed

I am overwhelmed by the response of my last post, Oh, please, about my experiences as a liberal in a church where most members predominantly identify as conservative.  When I wrote it, I didn’t think anyone would read it.  I didn’t think anyone would care.  Like I say in the description of my blog, writing is my therapy.  I just needed to write it and get it out there, and after that I thought I would just go along with my day.  I’ve received more hits on that post in the last 2 days than I’ve ever had in the almost 5 years I’ve been writing this blog.

What I want to say is thank you.  I’m overwhelmed with gratitude to everyone who thought this post was worth reading, worth sharing, and worth taking the time out of their day to share a comment with me.  I’m overwhelmed by how many people here and on Facebook said it resonated with them, that they identified with something I wrote, and that it made them feel less alone.  The truth is, I felt very alone when I wrote it.  I didn’t expect the fall-out from the election and I was shocked by how many people I love and respected were writing/saying disparaging things about anyone who didn’t vote for Romney.  It felt like once again I was a Mormon on the outside and a Mormon not worthy to sit at the same table with my fellow brothers and sisters in the faith.  I heard the echos of past telling me once again I was not a good enough Mormon.  And it wasn’t for something like sin, but for not voting “the right way.”

So thanks peeps, old peeps, and new peeps.  Thank you to those who were able to read about my experiences, my thoughts and feelings, my perceptions about my own life, without judgment and an open heart.  I’m going to put this week behind me and move forward in a positive direction.

Leave a Reply

