Book Review: Kindred Spirits by Sarah Strohmeyer

I absolutely loved Kindred Spirits by Sarah Strohmeyer. I’ve been a Strohmeyer fan since 2001 and this book, published in 2011, did not disappoint. In fact, it’s my favorite non-Bubbles Strohmeyer book so far.

Kindred Spirits is about four friends, Lynne, Carol, Mary Kay, and Beth, who met during a school board meeting and formed the Ladies Society for the Conservation of Martinis. These four friends become each other’s family as they raise their children together and endure the hardships, as well as the joys, of life together. When Lynne dies suddenly, she leaves behind a huge secret and tasks her friends to fulfill a mission for her she could never accomplish in life.

Lynne’s secret is something that hits particularly close to home for me because of my profession. There were so many truths in this book regarding the secret Lynne’s keeps I can’t help but think that Strohmeyer really did her homework.

Every chapter is interspersed with martini recipes and it made this teetotaler almost wish she was a drinker. If you are a drinker and like martini’s I suggest trying out some of these recipes to see if they really are as good as they sound.

The friendships between these four very different women was so heartwarming. Especially how much they demonstrated their love and loyalty to each other, even in wrong choices, and in this case, Lynne’s death. I think every woman wishes she had a core group of girlfriends who are her soft place to fall and friends she can go to for marriage and parenting advice; friends who never judge you and love you unconditionally.

This book is well-written and heartwarming. I had a hard time putting it down and only did so when I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer. I found myself crying several times as I had grown quite attached to these characters. I liked it so much I think I’ll recommend it to my book club for a pick for next year.

One thought on “Book Review: Kindred Spirits by Sarah Strohmeyer

Leave a Reply

