2012 – The End

2012 was a great year personally.  I do this little questionnaire every year and it’s fun to look back at them and read what happened on a particular year.
1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
 I traveled more in 2012 than in any other year.   I went to New York City twice, Indiana/Ohio to visit my Dad and go to a family reunion, and the hubs and I took a romantic vacay to San Diego.  That was my first trip ever to San Diego and I loved it.  We went to Cabrillo National Monument and played in the tide pools.  That was cool.  Mostly we lounged around the pool and enjoyed just being with each other.
2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
My New Years resolution for 2012 was to start working out more often, which I did until the first trimester of my pregnancy made me more tired than I had ever been in my life.  I’m looking forward to getting back into training for races in 2013.  Another resolution was to do the Little Red Bicycle race, which I dropped out of because my midwife thought it might be too dangerous.  Another resolution was to floss more, which I always make and break.  I had a rather lofty goal of reading a book a week, and that so didn’t happen.  I revised it to read 30 books this year, and I was so close to keeping that (I read 25!).  Alas, I’ve been too tired to read lately.  Another resolution was to eat out less, which we accomplished until this December.  And lastly I hoped for a happy and healthy family this year, and we were incredibly blessed with that.
3. How will you be spending New Year’s Eve?
Having a dinner and game night with my bestie, K, and our fams.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
Sadly, yes.  We lost my friend, Tiff, in May at the very young age of 34.  She and I met and became friends in high school. We were then sorority sisters in college.  Tiff was one of the purest souls who ever lived.  She was so sweet and kind to everyone.  Her death was rather shocking and I still can’t believe it’s true.
The hubs’s lost his great-grandmother on December 16th.  She lived to be 104 years old.  The first met her when the hubs and I were dating.  We had gone up to Brigham City for my family’s Christmas party and the hubs mentioned that his great-grandmother lived in Brigham and wanted me to meet her.  From the first moment I met her, Ula was one of the kindest people I’ve ever met.  She made me feel instantly loved and accepted.  We had an instant connection with our shared Danish ancestry.  I feel so blessed that my children got to know and love their great-great grandmother.  She was spunky, vivacious, and had a big heart.  We’re sure going to miss her.

5. What countries did you visit?

 I’ve still never left the country.  I’m lame like that.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

More sleep!  More time to read.  And more patience for jerkfaces.

 7. What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
The day my daughter was born.  Meeting and falling in love with my fourth little baby-sweet.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
A healthy pregnancy, delivery, and baby.

9. What was your biggest failure?

 No failures, just things I need to work on like everyone else.  Having more patience, flossing more, controlling my ADD.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nope.  I was actually pretty healthy this year, thank goodness.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
Besides all the baby stuff, Newsies and Wicked tickets.  I love my Broadway musicals.

12. Where did most of your money go?

 Mortgage, maternity clothes, baby stuff, food, kids, shoes, and books.

13. What song will always remind you of 2012?

 “Somebody that I used to know” by Goyte.  For most of the Spring and Summer I couldn’t get away from that song!  At one point I was so sick of it, but now I can listen to it and enjoy it.  And it has to win for coolest music video of the year.

 

“Gangnam Style” by Psy will also always remind me of 2012.  All 3 of my kids can sing the song over and over again and do the dance.  It’s gotten annoying at this point.

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Spending time outside.
15. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Feeling like crap.  However, it was all for a good cause.
16. What was your favorite TV program?
Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23 is my favorite new show.  It is laugh-out-loud funny.  My NYCbestie and I discovered it when I was visiting her for her birthday weekend.  We watched the entire first season (7 episodes) in one evening.  Now I’ve got the hubs loving it too.
17. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate?  No.  Deeply pity?  Yup.
18. What was the best book you read?
Gone Girl was one of the craziest books I’ve ever read.  It was a wild roller-coaster ride that I couldn’t put down.  Goodreads voted it the best thriller of the year and I agree.
19. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I didn’t discover any new music that I absolutely loved in 2012.  But I went to the Counting Crows concert with my friend, Miri, in August and hearing one of my old favorite bands live was like rediscovering them.  I’ve loved them for 18 years and seeing them live took my enjoyment of them to the next level.

20. What was your favorite film of this year?

 Les Miserables  was not only the best film I saw in 2012, it is possibly one of the best movies I’ve ever seen.  I’ve loved the music since junior high and fell in love with the book in High School.  I’ve seen the musical live four times, so it was inevitable I would fall in love with the movie.
Also, Brave was absolutely amazing.  It’s so nice to see a strong female character who is a Princess who has more goals in life than finding a husband.  FINALLY!  Oh, Brave is a love story, but it’s a love story between a mother and daughter.  The animation is breath-takingly beautiful.
21. What did you do on your birthday?
The hubs, his mom, our oldest daughter and I went and had dinner at The Copper Onion in Salt Lake City.  We then went and saw Wicked at the Capitol Theater.  The kids spent the night at their grandparents while the hubs and I spent the night in a hotel in SLC.  It was great!

22. What kept you sane?

 The hubs, my besties, and Mountain Dew.
 
23. Who did you miss?
My mother. Always and forever.

24. Who was the best new person you met?

 My new baby girl.

25. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012:

 Illegitmi non Carborundum

Happy New Year!  I hope 2013 is as good as 2012 was!

New-Year-2013-Celebration-Wallpaper-600x450

2 thoughts on “2012 – The End

  1. I like the idea of this questionnaire! I might do it myself, or something similar. I still need to read Gone Girl, and now I think I’ll have the chance, since I won’t feel like I have to just read children’s books all the time. I agree with you about Les Mis, too—I couldn’t believe how well it was done. There were things I’d have done differently, but I was so happy with the way it turned out! I’m glad you had a good year. I guess any year in which you get a sweet new addition to the family is probably a pretty good one. 🙂

  2. What I loved about the movie is that they were able to add elements from the book that don’t translate onstage and so they were omitted from the play. And I like how they rearranged some things (Lovely Ladies coming before I dreamed a Dream so that Fantine’s performance of that song was more meaningful) so that they were more powerful for the movie. I would analyze it further, but I need to see it several more times 🙂

Leave a Reply

